Old Fashioned Raisin Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Loved it just like when I was a kid when everyone made raisin pie,only thing I added a 1/4 cup of black walnuts great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
AWESOME!!!!! Huge it with my picky eater father and boyfriend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laced Impact

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Please help, I just tried to make this Raisin Pie and I have a dumb question, it says to Cook and stir until syrup is clear, about how long should this take, mine did not get clear after 15 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Awesome turned out perfect! They asked for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
This is my dad's fav kind of pie. He just loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I didn't have access to my Raisin Pie recipe so I tried this one since the reviews were all high. I doubled the amount of filling as I made a deep dish pie. The only thing I did different was, as per my recipe of many many years, I soaked the raisins in Canadian Mist for several hours. I always do this and think it gives a richness to the pie and leaves no alcohol taste. You;ll WOW! your raisin lovers with this recipe!! Thanks for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Excellent! I added a cup of coarsley chopped walnuts after cooking the filling like my Mom used to, the flavors really compliment each other. I would double the filling recipe next time for a thicker pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Pretty good. Double the filling ingredients (bake for 30-35 minutes still). Use lemon juice instead of vinegar. Try boiling the raisins in 3 cups of water instead of 4 -- the filling was very liquidy when this was made the first time on 1/20/13.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I made this today for my father-in-law's birthday, as raisin is his favorite pie, and it was well-received by all. The recipe is excellent as far as ingredients and method, however, at the suggestion of others I essentially doubled the recipe to nicely fill a 9" pie. I used a 3 1/2 cup bulk package of raisins to 3 1/2 cups of water, and doubled the remaining ingredients. I did use lemon juice instead of vinegar, but have made it both ways. (I just happened to have a lemon on hand that needed to be used.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Piedmont, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I made the recipe as written using Cook's Illustrated's Foolproof pie dough. I was so excited when my dad told me that if he had closed his eyes, he wouldn't be able to tell the difference between this pie and what his mom used to make. I've been trying to find a recipe to make my dad happy for years, and finally! Here it is!!! THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Ricotta Pie (Old Italian Recipe)

A favorite Italian cheese pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States