Old Fashioned Raisin Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Pretty good. Double the filling ingredients (bake for 30-35 minutes still). Use lemon juice instead of vinegar. Try boiling the raisins in 3 cups of water instead of 4 -- the filling was very liquidy when this was made the first time on 1/20/13.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I made this today for my father-in-law's birthday, as raisin is his favorite pie, and it was well-received by all. The recipe is excellent as far as ingredients and method, however, at the suggestion of others I essentially doubled the recipe to nicely fill a 9" pie. I used a 3 1/2 cup bulk package of raisins to 3 1/2 cups of water, and doubled the remaining ingredients. I did use lemon juice instead of vinegar, but have made it both ways. (I just happened to have a lemon on hand that needed to be used.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Piedmont, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I made the recipe as written using Cook's Illustrated's Foolproof pie dough. I was so excited when my dad told me that if he had closed his eyes, he wouldn't be able to tell the difference between this pie and what his mom used to make. I've been trying to find a recipe to make my dad happy for years, and finally! Here it is!!! THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
YES!!! I finally found a great raisin pie recipe for my 93 yr old dad. His mom used to make it for their LARGE (11 kids) family. If you like raisins.. & cinnamon, this is for you. I soak the raisins in hot water for about a 1/2 hour, before proceeding with the recipes..YUMMY!!! Never thought I'd like raisin pie.. BUT I DO!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AGGIEMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Temple, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
This was best I've made in 57 years can't beat it Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Never made a Raisin pie, but this was very good and easy. Everyone lived it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
Just like Gramma used to make.. except she made the pies on cookie sheets! Made this exactly as instructed but doubled the recipe as suggested. Could have actually only just 1 1/2'd the recipe for my 10" glass pie pan as I had filling left over (oh my! left over goodness? dreadful lol!) No fault of the recipe.. just me wanting more of a good thing! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Alberni, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Bravo! This recipe is awsome followed the recipe to a T next time will add my own touches but, hey havent ever made a raisin pie but hubby and i agree great stuff five stars our vote next time will add some lemon juice (fresh squeezed and some zest) thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jody
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Raisin Pie is my Dad's favourite so I made this for his birthday. I have to give it 5 stars based on his review, which was an enthusiastic 'wouldn't change a thing'. Um, he didn't share any of it with anybody.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Trenton, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 11-20 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States