Old Fashioned Raisin Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
We were a house divided :) I read the reviews and did double the filling. I think I would probably prefer not doubling filling, but my husband loved it with the extra filling. Taste was awesome. Almost like a very mild mincemeat pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
My Dad is no longer with us, but I made this Raisin pie for Christmas in honor of his memory. My sister and I would make Raisin pie for him every year, as it was his favorite. I loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Parisien

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Loved it just like when I was a kid when everyone made raisin pie,only thing I added a 1/4 cup of black walnuts great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
AWESOME!!!!! Huge it with my picky eater father and boyfriend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laced Impact

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Please help, I just tried to make this Raisin Pie and I have a dumb question, it says to Cook and stir until syrup is clear, about how long should this take, mine did not get clear after 15 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Awesome turned out perfect! They asked for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
This is my dad's fav kind of pie. He just loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I didn't have access to my Raisin Pie recipe so I tried this one since the reviews were all high. I doubled the amount of filling as I made a deep dish pie. The only thing I did different was, as per my recipe of many many years, I soaked the raisins in Canadian Mist for several hours. I always do this and think it gives a richness to the pie and leaves no alcohol taste. You;ll WOW! your raisin lovers with this recipe!! Thanks for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Excellent! I added a cup of coarsley chopped walnuts after cooking the filling like my Mom used to, the flavors really compliment each other. I would double the filling recipe next time for a thicker pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Pretty good. Double the filling ingredients (bake for 30-35 minutes still). Use lemon juice instead of vinegar. Try boiling the raisins in 3 cups of water instead of 4 -- the filling was very liquidy when this was made the first time on 1/20/13.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States