Old Fashioned Raisin Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2015
This pie is delicious. Was skeptical about the vinegar, but tried it. I did double the recipe for a 9 inch pie. A winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by S. Hart
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
Great and simple recipe. My father asks me to make 2 pies each time he comes to visit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
I found this identical recipe in a McCall's magazine around 1980 and have made it several times over the years. Fortunately I have three grandchildren (two are twins just two and a half years old) and they're crazy about raisins in any form so they love this. I've always liked the flavors of orange and raisins together so I make a little orange glaze and drizzle it over the top of this and everybody likes that too. Just combine a little powdered sugar and some frozen concentrate for orange juice, or else some grated orange rind and water with the powdered sugar. I've used lemon juice in place of the vinegar once or twice but never noticed any taste difference. A word of caution: when you bake most fruit pies such as apple, blueberry etc. you don't remove the pie from the oven until the filling starts bubbling out of the slits in the top crust. That ensures that your filling is "cooked." But with this pie the filling is already cooked before you pour it into the shell, so all you're doing is baking the crust. Cornstarch reacts negatively to being "cooked twice." In fact it "breaks down" if cooked a second time. So with this pie, follow the timing suggested and take the pie out of the oven as soon as you're satisfied that the crust is browned to your liking and don't wait for the filling to "bubble up" through the slits. The second cooking may cause the cornstarch to break down and you'll have a runny filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
You have to really like raisins to enjoy this one, but it is good. Like others, I used lemon juice instead of vinegar and would recommend making it that way. I also doubled the recipe since I had a deep dish pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
This was an excellent recipe, even given that I forgot the vinegar and butter, and I baked it at 400 because I had another pie in the oven that was supposed to be baked at 350. If I make it again, I'll mix the cornstarch with a little water before putting it in with the raisins because I didn't manage to get all the lumps out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan DeSandoli

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nanette Willis-Allen
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
My uncle Orbie asked for a raisin pie. Had never made it. Looked here found yours. INCREDIBLE. Just like his mom made! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
A wonderful pie. My first raisin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
I don't like cooked raisins, so I didn't actually taste it, but my mom and brother really liked it. They said it was really good, but really sweet. I can say it is definitely very easy. I replaced the vinegar with lemon juice. It cooks quickly once the cornstarch is added, so watch carefully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
We were a house divided :) I read the reviews and did double the filling. I think I would probably prefer not doubling filling, but my husband loved it with the extra filling. Taste was awesome. Almost like a very mild mincemeat pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
My Dad is no longer with us, but I made this Raisin pie for Christmas in honor of his memory. My sister and I would make Raisin pie for him every year, as it was his favorite. I loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Parisien

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Ricotta Pie (Old Italian Recipe)

A favorite Italian cheese pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States