Old Fashioned Prune Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2013
I had some buttermilk and prunes that I needed to use and this recipe was perfect. I increased the spices in the cake and added a half teaspoon baking soda to the glaze mixture so the buttermilk would not curdle. The glaze was so good, but I did not use it all. When the cake was cool enough, I set the rack it was on over a baking sheet to collect the extra glaze. I baked the cake for 57 minutes and my boyfriend said the bottom was a little overdone. I have an oven thermometer that says my oven is correct. It was probably only a few minutes too long, so I recommend checking your cake a bit early. I do think the bottom softened up after a bit, though. This really was pretty good. My boyfriend ate it, but didn't seem crazy about it. I may make it again sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
I replaced the buttermilk with almond milk + 1 tsp lemon juice to make this dairy-free. The cake had a nice texture, rise and color. Im a big fan of spice cakes and this one was good, but the allspice is really predominant so adjust to your tastes if needed. 1 hour in a bundt pan was right on and it came out of the pan easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pharmacokatie
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Good, not great. I didn't find it particularly difficult. Found it to be a treat for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Subvet

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Islip Terrace, New York, USA
Living In: Princeton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
I just made this for the first time this morning and it is absolutely the best and the most moist spice cake that I ever ate. I prepared a healthier version using 1/2 cup oil...1 cp Splenda and 1/4 cp sugar...omitted the allspice and used 2 tsp cinnamon...1 1/2 tsp. allspice 1/4 tsp. baking powder...1 1/2 cp chopped prunes... 1/2 cp flaxseed........ FOR THE TOPPING --1/2 cp butter...1 cp Splenda...1/2 cp sugar...1/2 tsp baking soda...the rest of the ingred. I kept the same. The baking soda keeps the mixture from curdling...as soon as the mixture starts to bubble slightly, immediately remove from heat, add vanilla and pour over warm cake. The next time I make this cake I will see how it turns out using just Splenda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Instruction and order of ingredients are different. Caused a little confusion. How fine to chop prunes is not clear. I ran mine through a Braun's chopper and they became paste. I then had to fold into flower and work them like you do fruit in fruit cake. Topping should be separated from the rest of the ingredients. Drenching with topping is not very clear. Slow means sloooooow. Exceptional cake. everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Fabulous! Rich! VERY moist! Didn't find it troublesome at all. Certainly no trouble devouring it.:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
It wasn't bad, but it wasn't amazing either. Tastes much better warm that cool. Made this because we had some extra prunes and buttermilk in the house, but probably won't make again. Co-workers liked it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sereen
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Super surprised as to how tasty this cake is. Probably one of the best cakes I have ever made. My family and friends LOVED it and it did not last long at all!! I followed the recipe exactly but added walnuts instead of pecans (its all I had at home). The glaze is good but not at all necessary as the cake is sweet and incredible as is. I will make this cake ALL the time now!! Oh... I did double the spices I added and I would recommend that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sereen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
This cake is really amazing! So moist and flavorful! I converted to gluten free using my flour blend, and you'd never know it! I halved the recipe and baked in a 9 in. square for about 30 min. I cut back on sugar in cake and in sauce, and was still plenty sweet. I boiled prunes and then chopped in my food processor. I also added 3 oz. baby food prunes. Everything else I pretty much kept the same! Delicious! I had kids and adults asking for seconds! I did let them taste it first before telling them it had prunes in it. Once they knew how good it tasted, they didn't care what was in it! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Dawn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Made this at Christmas ... It was delicious...even w? me mistaking bread flour for the all purpose. Just don't mention the prunes... the kids even devoured it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorlak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States