Old Fashioned Pound Cake with Raspberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Very good cake and it lends itself to variation. I make a lemon pound cake by adding the zest of 2 lemons to the batter. At Christmas I made a lemon poppyseed cake by adding the lemon zest and 1/4 of poppyseeds. Whether you use the original recipe or try variations, this cake comes out yummy and tastes like REAL pound cake, which is what I've been looking for. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
This makes a ton of cake. I made a full loaf, two smaller loafs, and an even smaller loaf of it. It's a guessing game as to how long they take.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel & Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
did not like this i even added another cup of flour and had to throw them all away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KC
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
Mmm! Yummy yummy. The cake came out perfectly - texture, taste, colour, everything. Thank you for sharing! I'm a kid so I can't use liquor, but I boiled some raspberries in sugar and water until it became syrupy, and that tasted fabulous with the cake (which was also great on its own). Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
I made this for a small group of people and almost everyone commented on how good it was. I used margarine instead of butter and it turned out well. I used a different raspberry sauce, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
This was a good cake in the first 24 hours, but it was excellent the third day. I made two: one in a larger pan and one in a smaller one. The one in the larger pan got too done around the edge but the one in the slightly smaller loaf pan turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
I have made many, many pound cakes but this recipe is the best!! The only thing I did different is added a few different flavoring: coconut, jamaican rum, black walnut. It was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longview, Texas, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
Everything you could ask for in a pound cake. The nutmeg comes through pretty strong, so be carefull to add more than what is called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
Beautiful cake and the sauce is to die for. I actually used Chambord instead of creme de cassis and thought it was terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
Wow! What an awesome cake. Sweet and beautiful. I made it exactly as directed. One sneak trick..if you're going to invert it after you cook it, eat the crunchy crust that comes from baking it. Once inverted, no one will ever know. But WOW...what a treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States