Old Fashioned Pound Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
filled the 3 loaf pans...cakes did not rise much. Cake was moist and flavorful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I like the flavor I got and the texture was good. I will be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by midnite baker
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
The recipe is perfect, it rose very high even without the use of baking powder. Totally disagree with the previous one star comment, my cake stay moist as any other cake using perfect recipes. Based on my preference, I use only 2 cups of sugar (3 cups is way toooo sweeet). Since i dont have any shortening, I use my stock of margarine plus butter. I think this will be my basic pound cake recipe starts from today. Thank u for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Great recipe! I will add almond extract the next time I make this. Overall, good cake..... my family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor Mill, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
This is my first time using this pound cake recipe. I was never very good at baking pound cakes. This one turned out perfect! My husband had to admit the cake was delicious. This is the new family recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Fabulous!!! I used about 3T fresh squeezed lemon and added about 3T lemon zest (left out vanilla) to make a lemon pound cake. This recipe yielded two loaf pans plus 4 jumbo muffins. Took the muffin pans out at 35 minutes, and the loaves out at 60 minutes. Beautiful texture, color and taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
this is the best plain cake I've tasted for a long long time my first attempt I decrease the ingredients by half, but I wish i hadn't cause everyone wanted seconds. Will be using this recipe over and over again. THANK U!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
I had to make this recipe three times. The first time I made it I wasn't realy impressed, I went went out to eat and when I returned the cake was gone, but three of my fiance's friends were looking a little too satisfied to see me. I asked if they knew what happened to the cake they told me it had been eaten and asked if there was any more. So I had to make two more only I used Butter flavor shortening and imitation butter extract plus upped the lemon extract
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by W. Charles Tate

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
i made this cake today,12/13/12,i don't buy shortening,only had 1 stick of butter,so i used margarine instead.i orange and vanilla extract,made a caramel glazed and poured over cake while still warm,smelled awesome while baking,and the taste was awesome as well,and very moist.and i also used cake flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deborah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukegan, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Tried this recipe today. It was awesome! It was so light and fluffy with that Old fashioned taste that reminds me of my mother and Aunts cooking. It is an easy recipe and the ingredients are usually already in your pantry. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ocsmm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States