Old-Fashioned Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
Made this on a day when comfort food was what I wanted and it filled the bill admirably. Changed the method a bit, though because having to wash two stockpots would have made it that much less comforting. Cooked the onion, as directed, then added the potatoes and carrots to the onion, sauteed for about 5 minutes on medium low heat, added vegetable broth, brought to a boil, and then simmered, covered, for about 15 minutes, till potatoes were tender. Added herbs and pepper, and 2 cups of milk. Whisked flour with the other cup of milk, and added it to the simmering soup. Cooked till thickened. Served bowls of grated cheese and crumbled bacon (for the meat eaters in the family) on the side, and some lovely cheese toast. Felt much better afterward. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
Let me say that I was skeptical about the outcome of this recipe....I was wooried that it wasn't going to turn out right...It turned out fabulous!! My husband commented all throughout dinner how much he liked the soup....I took the advice of others and sauted some celery with the leaves along with the margarine and onions....and I diced up some baby carrots with my chopper to cook along with the potatoes....and I topped the soup with some crumbled bacon and cheese...just needed to add a bit of salt....WONDERFUL!!! Will be making again and again and again! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMCRABBY2U2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Granite City, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
Just made this soup and is very tasty...I substituted milk with Pet evaporated milk. I added Celery (leaves included), broccoli floweretes (as I love broccoli)and sauteed with the onions and I used straight Chicken Broth in lieu of Chicken bouillon..I did not use Parsley and Thyme at all...Don't think its needed...I made homemade croutons seasoned with garlic/butter/and parsley..Topped the soup with chopped green onions, bacon bits, cheese, and croutons....It was very good and the family loved it...I didn't add flour to the onions/broccoli/and celery...I added flour last to the soup by mixing the flour with cold water real good, then added to soup. I mixed one Tablespoon of flour into soup at a time so as to reach the consistency of thickness I wanted because of using Pet evaporated milk as its thicker than milk. Will definitely make again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2002
WONDERFUL soup! I used new potatoes with mine. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
This has become my little black dress of creamy soups and it's never failed me. It's a solid base that you can accessorize however you wish. The first time I made this I sauteed with olive oil rather than butter, and I replaced water for whey leftover from making cheese (with non-fat powdered milk, no less). It was hands-down the best potato soup I've ever had, and not a soul would believe it didn't have butter (and lots of fat) in it. Even better the second time around. Realize here that you're making a roux - if you don't know about roux it's worth looking up so you understand how it works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
Excellent soup! I didn't have enough milk, so, like another reviewer, I used a can of evaporated milk. I think that actually made it more creamy. I, too, sauted one celery stalk (with the leafy top) with my onion. A great soup, thanks Cyd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DART1121

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Turin, Iowa, USA
Living In: West Bend, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2002
Excellent recipe! My family loves it. I recommend fresh parsley instead of dried. Also, I used 2.5 cups of milk instead of the 3 that the recipe called for and beef bouillon instead of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
TO MAKE THIS VEGAN you can sub some things. I cook the potatoes in salted water. Cook just onion on the stove with some canola oil. When onions are done add a few more Tbls of canola oil and flour. Stir in your non flavored almond milk and stir until it boils. Add in your potatoes and season to your liking and you have a great soup! I have now made this many, many times with many variations. I tried it the other day adding a can of veggie broth to the flour/oil mixture and a combo of almond and coconut milk. REALLY good, will now be the variation I use most. The broth adds some flavor and the coconut milk is creamier than just almond milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Husband loved it and had 3 helpings and so did daughter. I did not have dried thyme but we like extra pepper-we also used 3 chicken bouillon cubes as I did not have the powder. It was awesome. Just enough for 3 of us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lesley432

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Big Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Great! Added ham and celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LALAFLUTIST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States