Old-Fashioned Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
Made this last night. Needed extra S&P but was wonderful as posted. I will be using this a a base for vegetable soups in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bathurst, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Bracebridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
Nice simple soup, I added a little parmesan cheese at the end of cooking and I also sautéed a stalk of celery with the onion. I will defiantly make this soup again. My vegetarian daughter made this soup using veggie stock equally as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
I added some smoked chedder cheese into this recipe and my fiance thinks it totally rocks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Marvelous recipe. I tweaked it just a bit by omitting the carrots but adding diced ham and a liberal amount of sour cream. It tasted wonderful. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
This really taste like what my mom use to make. We did add more bacon to our servings, but we like bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Can't cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Oh! My goodness. This is a keeper. It was easy and fast and besides I had everything in my pantry. I added ground turkey meat to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Montclair, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Excellent soup! Made it just as written. This would be great to add crab or lobster into it. Probably will add some bacon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Very good once salt is added. I didn't have chicken boullion, so I used 6 vegetable boullion cubes. Also, I used soy milk and still my son, a soy milk hater, loved it. I first rated this a "4," but had to change it to a "5" when I realized we were disappointed when we ran out of soup! Definitely will be in rotation all winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Donald, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
I thought this soup was great!! My whole family loved it and my husband said that it was just like his moms. So I gave it a 5 stars b/c it was just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
I have to rate this 5 stars along with the other reviews. I made it exactly like the receipe, except that I mixed milks. I didn't have alot of regular milk, so I used a cup of whole milk, 1 1/2 cups of evaporated milk, and 1/2 cup of skim milk. I have never made potato soup before, but with all the mmmmmm's and ahhhhhh's at dinner tonight, I will definitely be making it again. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susannb
Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Cadiz, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States