Old-Fashioned Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I used almost about a half a cup of flour to thicken up the broth. The soup still had great flavor also used 6 boulioun cubes instead of powder. My family devoured the whole pot. Can't wait to make it again to add a few extras...bacon and celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Connellsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This is delicious. I was worried about making it dairy-free for an allergy, but it worked perfectly. I used coconut milk (Thai Kitchen and So Delicious) and Earth Balance butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Just like my mom used to make!!! I didn't vary from the original recipe at all except I made it vegan. I used soy milk (original unsweetened) and Smart Balance butter (which is vegan). It turns out super creamy and delicious! I will definitely be making this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lellybug

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Great Base Recipe! I did tweak a bit but thats because i had not choice based on what i had in the pantry. I boiled 3 cups water, the creamy chicken season packet out of a pack of ramen(i didnt have chx bouillion), about 8 small golden potatoes cubed with skin-on, a dash of thyme, basil, & parsley. In a sep pan i fried 5 pieces of bacon let cool, crumbled, added to potatoes. I put the flour, & milk in the bacon grease along with garlic & onion powder made soupy gravy added to potatoes simmered for 5 mins added shredded cheddar & mozz voila tweaked on hand potato soup!! YUMO
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
My version turned out bland. To save it, I added another teaspoon of the chicken buillon powder, some potato flakes (I had only 5 potatoes on hand), crushed red pepper flakes and a cup of water, as my soup was very thick. The final result was OK, but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Best potato soup I've ever had! I didn't have parsley and added celery. Thyme in potato soup is new to me, but soooo good. I think this is the ONLY thing I've cooked and not added garlic to. It's perfect without it.... never thought I would say that about anything lol. Seriously AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
Loved this!! Great flavor! Whole family enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
wow! very good ! a must trie to all!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
This soup was great!!! Just the treat for a cool day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CupcakePolly
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
i made this recipe last night, i did just make half of it since it was just myself eating it...really wish i would have made the whole thing. I did leave out the carrots and the parsely and thyme. I did cook the potatoes slightly longer and i mashed them up and when the soup was done I blended it. Very good very creamy perfect for someone that just got teeth pulled and wants to eat adult food lol. I'll probably be making this again next week. I did add some cheddar chz which is good with it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CupcakePolly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waycross, Georgia, USA
Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States