Old-Fashioned Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
very good, basic recipe, flexible for personal tastes, adding seasonings and spices to taste won't be overpowering. i used golddust potatoes. also, i used cornstarch instead of flour. will adjust for a thicker broth in the future. i used the settings to adjust for 8 ppl b/c my family likes to eat, and it'll be good for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shymama8

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
To thicken soup so don't have to make a roux i add instant potato flakes. Works great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Kuykendall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Farmer City, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
This is what I call Potato Soup! Added celery to the onion while cooking it. I made a double batch and it turned out great. Even better the next day. I used other seasonings because just didn't have the thyme and parsley handy. Let it cook for a good long time. It was a big hit with the kids even!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
This was delicious! I too made it one-pot by just whisking the flour in the milk at the end. My adjustments: I used Yukon gold potatoes unpeeled for added nutrition and firmer texture. Replaced a cup of the milk with some sour cream that I needed to use up. Used homemade chicken broth instead of water & bouillon and added salt to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
This turned out really well and was super easy to make. Perfect when you are craving a comfort soup. The only change I made was that I added a stalk of celery (diced, including leaves) and I didn't use the bouillon, just seasoned with salt, pepper and herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I made this soup last night it was easy and delicious. I used purple potatoes as that was the only kind I had on hand.I used organic whole non homogenized milk so creamy.I will definitely make this a regular winter soup in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I really loved this soup!! I used powdered milk, since it was what I had on hand, and I followed the recommendation to cook the whole thing in one pot rather than using two. I also pureed the soup, which gave me a more creamy texture. It was definitely a keeper...I'll be using this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
wow! so easy to cook and prepare! not to mention delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
Great soup! I used vegetable broth and used evaporated milk for part of the milk. I also put everything in the slow cooker on low after I sauteed the onions. Other than that, I kept it the same and everyone loved it! It was great warmed up the next day too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
Good recipe. I followed the recipe at hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

World's Best Potato Soup

A delicious, chunky and creamy potato soup with bacon.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States