Old-Fashioned Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
This turned out really well and was super easy to make. Perfect when you are craving a comfort soup. The only change I made was that I added a stalk of celery (diced, including leaves) and I didn't use the bouillon, just seasoned with salt, pepper and herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I made this soup last night it was easy and delicious. I used purple potatoes as that was the only kind I had on hand.I used organic whole non homogenized milk so creamy.I will definitely make this a regular winter soup in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I really loved this soup!! I used powdered milk, since it was what I had on hand, and I followed the recommendation to cook the whole thing in one pot rather than using two. I also pureed the soup, which gave me a more creamy texture. It was definitely a keeper...I'll be using this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
wow! so easy to cook and prepare! not to mention delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
Great soup! I used vegetable broth and used evaporated milk for part of the milk. I also put everything in the slow cooker on low after I sauteed the onions. Other than that, I kept it the same and everyone loved it! It was great warmed up the next day too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
Good recipe. I followed the recipe at hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
I took the advice of others and doubled the thyme and used the immersion blender to smooth it out. I used chicken broth instead of water and chicken bullion. It was what I had available. I put a dollop of sour cream on top of each bowl. I did this to add a bit of extra flavour because I can't use any salt. Tasted even better the next day. Will be a regular on my dinner table
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
The only 'modification' I did was fresh parsley instead of dried, and I used chicken stock that I prepared myself, fresh off of two chickens that sat on the smoker for dinner a couple nights ago. This imparted a nice, smoky, bacon-like flavor to the stock (omg, you should have smelled the house when it was cooking down, lol) Aside from that, followed the instructions to the T and I'm very pleased with this recipe. Pleased enough that I know it would be just as good without the smoked chicken stock (but then I'd be apt to add bacon :D )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
I just make this for lunch, and it is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
This is an easy tasty recipe. I choose to add a healthy twist by adding bite size Broccoli tops in the last step. Like most cooking, I had to alter the spices to taste, but will definatly be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States