Old-Fashioned Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
I love potato soup . It's been yrs since I made it and was pleased to find a recipe that was so close to mine .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Easy and delicious. Made as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hungarian Nana
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
OMG, This soup is fabulous exactly as it is! I didn't "change" any of the original recipe but I did add celery. Every soup I make has onion, celery, and carrots so I simmered the celery with the onion. COOKING TIP FROM EMARALD LEGASSE} He once said, "Use red/orange, yellow, and green ingredients for all full course meals because it causes you to "wow" the dish! That's why restaurants will use a vegetable garnish (such as parsley) on your plate! Try it with your family and I promise you'll wow them before they take their first bite! >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> As for recipes: One pet peeve I have is when an ingredient is small, medium, or large. It's not possible to know what each person sees as small, medium, or large. So I prefer the use of cup or weight amounts in order to make it exactly the same way every time. EXACT MEASUREMENTS I USED FOR THIS RECIPE: 8 cups potatoes, cut bite-size, 2 c. carrot coins, 2 c. onion, diced, 2 c. celery,diced. TAKE NOTE: I always create my own soups but have never perfected potato soup. But now I have the perfect one! THANK YOU! This soup deserves SIX STARS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hungarian Nana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Very easy & taste wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
We were looking for a simple and nutritious potato soup to make for lunch. This seemed to be a pretty basic recipe! We actually used only 4 potatoes and only 1/2 of a yellow onion chopped up. I added 2 cloves of garlic, chopped to saute with the onions. I did add the three tablespoons of flour for thickening with the same amount of butter but did reduce the water and the milk to two cups respectively, since I used less potatoes. I also reduced the amount of chicken bullion to three heaping teaspoons. I also added 1 carrot and 1 sprig of celery with the leaves to the boiled vegetables. We did not have any bacon to use so I defrosted three medium sized chicken tenders to saute in 2 tablespoons of butter with garlic powder and salt and pepper as needed for seasoning. I added the chicken tenders with the buttery sauce to the soup as a final touch. It turned out so delicious. The best comfort food to go with grilled cheese sandwiches!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
This soup is terrific! We don't eat meat, and I wanted to use items in my kitchen, so these are the changes: I used "I can't believe it's not butter", sliced 3 carrots (for color and because I really like them), Used 3 Tbls. of "Better than Bouillon", and used almost 4 cups of 1% milk with a cup of buttermilk, some of which I pureed and added, and I lightly steamed some broccoli and added that. I only added pepper, since the broth was very flavorful on its own! Will definitely be making this all through the fall and winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Ritchey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Pasco, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Loved how easy this was!! I added chopped kale and cayenne pepper!! Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Great recipe. Like several others, I didn't feel like getting two pots dirty to make one soup, so I simply sauteed the onion, carrots, (and I added some diced celery) in the butter first, then added the flour to make the roux, then added the potatoes and broth, and just cooked the potatoes in the base. It came out great! I used 1% milk to try to cut the calories a little bit...still came out nice and creamy. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Delicious! I actually left out the parsley and thyme. Used chicken broth instead of water and melted in at the last a handful of grated provolone and half a handful grated fresh parmesan. Made it VERY Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly and was not thrilled....I decided to use my submersion blender and slightly blend which left very small pieces of everything....this was much better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

World's Best Potato Soup

A delicious, chunky and creamy potato soup with bacon.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States