Old-Fashioned Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Delicious! Next time I'll add some celery but I didn't have any in hand. Made as written and even my husband who claims to hate potato soup loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CK Cooks
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Great dish. Only changes I made was to add 1 stalk of finely chopped celery and used fresh parsley instead of dry. This dish is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CK Cooks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
I loved this soup! Very good! Thank you I really enjoyed it, and my little girl who is home sick said it's delicious .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
Loved it :). I also used an emulsion blender to thicken it up a bit and that really did lovely things :). I was confused about consistency in the step of adding milk to the butter+onion+flour paste... But it worked out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
I've been making this soup for 13 years and it has become a favorite staple in my house. My friends and family will invite themselves over if they know I'm making this soup! I don't add anything to this recipe, it's perfect as is. That being said, potatoes come in different sizes so 6 medium potatoes can be quite different than 6 small or 6 large potatoes. I like a chunkier soup so I add diced potatoes until they are just above the water level in my pot. It doesn't take long for the potatoes to lose some of their water and then they will be completely submerged. Serve with green onions, crumbled bacon and cheddar cheese. YUM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi Shimchick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Delicious soup! I added celery, white pepper and a few more carrots. I also used 3/1/2 cups of water and the veggie soup base. I like the fact that it's not cheesy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
Made this today with my daughter. I also added 1/2 Tbsp of dried chives and 1/4 tsp of dried tarragon. Magnificent flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Woodley Williams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
This is a good potato soup recipe. I followed the directions as written. Simple ingredients, simple preparation, great tasting--what's not to like? If you have any left over, refrigerate overnight then reheat it the next day. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
This turned out SPLENDIDLY! Like others, I added chopped celery to the onion. But here's where the real magic happened: I added a pinch of red pepper flakes, a 1/4 tsp. at most, just enough to add a hint of heat. But then—and here's the BEST part—I fried up some extra crisp bacon, broke it into bits and added it to the surface of the soup as a garnish with shredded pepper jack cheese. Oh là là! Perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nick Roberts

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
I love potato soup . It's been yrs since I made it and was pleased to find a recipe that was so close to mine .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States