Old-Fashioned Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
Loved it :). I also used an emulsion blender to thicken it up a bit and that really did lovely things :). I was confused about consistency in the step of adding milk to the butter+onion+flour paste... But it worked out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
I've been making this soup for 13 years and it has become a favorite staple in my house. My friends and family will invite themselves over if they know I'm making this soup! I don't add anything to this recipe, it's perfect as is. That being said, potatoes come in different sizes so 6 medium potatoes can be quite different than 6 small or 6 large potatoes. I like a chunkier soup so I add diced potatoes until they are just above the water level in my pot. It doesn't take long for the potatoes to lose some of their water and then they will be completely submerged. Serve with green onions, crumbled bacon and cheddar cheese. YUM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi Shimchick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Delicious soup! I added celery, white pepper and a few more carrots. I also used 3/1/2 cups of water and the veggie soup base. I like the fact that it's not cheesy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
Made this today with my daughter. I also added 1/2 Tbsp of dried chives and 1/4 tsp of dried tarragon. Magnificent flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Woodley Williams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
This is a good potato soup recipe. I followed the directions as written. Simple ingredients, simple preparation, great tasting--what's not to like? If you have any left over, refrigerate overnight then reheat it the next day. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
This turned out SPLENDIDLY! Like others, I added chopped celery to the onion. But here's where the real magic happened: I added a pinch of red pepper flakes, a 1/4 tsp. at most, just enough to add a hint of heat. But then—and here's the BEST part—I fried up some extra crisp bacon, broke it into bits and added it to the surface of the soup as a garnish with shredded pepper jack cheese. Oh là là! Perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nick Roberts

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
I love potato soup . It's been yrs since I made it and was pleased to find a recipe that was so close to mine .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Easy and delicious. Made as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hungarian Nana
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
OMG, This soup is fabulous exactly as it is! I didn't "change" any of the original recipe but I did add celery. Every soup I make has onion, celery, and carrots so I simmered the celery with the onion. COOKING TIP FROM EMARALD LEGASSE} He once said, "Use red/orange, yellow, and green ingredients for all full course meals because it causes you to "wow" the dish! That's why restaurants will use a vegetable garnish (such as parsley) on your plate! Try it with your family and I promise you'll wow them before they take their first bite! >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> As for recipes: One pet peeve I have is when an ingredient is small, medium, or large. It's not possible to know what each person sees as small, medium, or large. So I prefer the use of cup or weight amounts in order to make it exactly the same way every time. EXACT MEASUREMENTS I USED FOR THIS RECIPE: 8 cups potatoes, cut bite-size, 2 c. carrot coins, 2 c. onion, diced, 2 c. celery,diced. TAKE NOTE: I always create my own soups but have never perfected potato soup. But now I have the perfect one! THANK YOU! This soup deserves SIX STARS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hungarian Nana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Very easy & taste wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States