Old-Fashioned Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
We were looking for a simple and nutritious potato soup to make for lunch. This seemed to be a pretty basic recipe! We actually used only 4 potatoes and only 1/2 of a yellow onion chopped up. I added 2 cloves of garlic, chopped to saute with the onions. I did add the three tablespoons of flour for thickening with the same amount of butter but did reduce the water and the milk to two cups respectively, since I used less potatoes. I also reduced the amount of chicken bullion to three heaping teaspoons. I also added 1 carrot and 1 sprig of celery with the leaves to the boiled vegetables. We did not have any bacon to use so I defrosted three medium sized chicken tenders to saute in 2 tablespoons of butter with garlic powder and salt and pepper as needed for seasoning. I added the chicken tenders with the buttery sauce to the soup as a final touch. It turned out so delicious. The best comfort food to go with grilled cheese sandwiches!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
This soup is terrific! We don't eat meat, and I wanted to use items in my kitchen, so these are the changes: I used "I can't believe it's not butter", sliced 3 carrots (for color and because I really like them), Used 3 Tbls. of "Better than Bouillon", and used almost 4 cups of 1% milk with a cup of buttermilk, some of which I pureed and added, and I lightly steamed some broccoli and added that. I only added pepper, since the broth was very flavorful on its own! Will definitely be making this all through the fall and winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Ritchey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Pasco, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Loved how easy this was!! I added chopped kale and cayenne pepper!! Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Great recipe. Like several others, I didn't feel like getting two pots dirty to make one soup, so I simply sauteed the onion, carrots, (and I added some diced celery) in the butter first, then added the flour to make the roux, then added the potatoes and broth, and just cooked the potatoes in the base. It came out great! I used 1% milk to try to cut the calories a little bit...still came out nice and creamy. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Delicious! I actually left out the parsley and thyme. Used chicken broth instead of water and melted in at the last a handful of grated provolone and half a handful grated fresh parmesan. Made it VERY Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly and was not thrilled....I decided to use my submersion blender and slightly blend which left very small pieces of everything....this was much better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
I love this recipe! I always use it as my base and then make a few adjustments by leaving out the carrots and adding some cheese into it at the end to kind of thicken it up and make it cheesy potato soup! My favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Amazing soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
Very good soup, but time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
Great and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States