Old-Fashioned Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Great recipe. Like several others, I didn't feel like getting two pots dirty to make one soup, so I simply sauteed the onion, carrots, (and I added some diced celery) in the butter first, then added the flour to make the roux, then added the potatoes and broth, and just cooked the potatoes in the base. It came out great! I used 1% milk to try to cut the calories a little bit...still came out nice and creamy. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Delicious! I actually left out the parsley and thyme. Used chicken broth instead of water and melted in at the last a handful of grated provolone and half a handful grated fresh parmesan. Made it VERY Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly and was not thrilled....I decided to use my submersion blender and slightly blend which left very small pieces of everything....this was much better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Amazing soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
Very good soup, but time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
Great and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
I used soy milk instead of cows milk because my mother prefers it. The soy milk creates a sweet taste though, so I don't really recommend it unless you know how to cover it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I used the slow cooker for the potatoes and broth until the potatoes were done. I didn't have any parsley so, I used cilantro and added frozen corn at the very end (they cooled down the soup just enough so I could have some right away---I have no patience when the soup smells so good!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
This is really good! I have never made a recipe before where you use onions as part of making the "white sauce" (butter, flour, milk mixture). I like that technique. Although it is a great recipe, I may try either reducing or eliminating the chicken boullion next time. That way it will be closer to the potato soup my mom made when I was growing up. I think that recipe may have come from an old Betty Crocker cookbook. I added one stalk of celery to my soup, and sautéed it along with the onion. I added one carrot (the recipe calls for carrots) even though I have never made potato soup before using carrots. Great recipe! You won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scott Air Force Base, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
It's decent, but not packed with any flavor. Better be sure to have some additional spices to personalize it. I used garlic salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States