Old-Fashioned Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Good soup base to start with and make your own changes to. It turned out much better than most soup recipes since it starts with a roux.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Great recipe. I added celery and about 1 Tbsp extra flour (because my husband likes thicker soup). My son also liked this soup! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blondern

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Yummy!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Delicious and Easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I loved this recipe so much I double it when making it for a family of four. It is usually consumed within 24 hours. I do add minced garlic to the onions and red pepper flake to the soup. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I added celery to this recipe, because we love celery in soup. Other than that, I followed the recipe as written, and it turned out to be a big hit! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Fantastic! I added a pinch of herbal seasoning but otherwise made this as-is. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
TO MAKE THIS VEGAN you can sub some things. I cook the potatoes in salted water. Cook just onion on the stove with some canola oil. When onions are done add a few more Tbls of canola oil and flour. Stir in your non flavored almond milk and stir until it boils. Add in your potatoes and season to your liking and you have a great soup! I have now made this many, many times with many variations. I tried it the other day adding a can of veggie broth to the flour/oil mixture and a combo of almond and coconut milk. REALLY good, will now be the variation I use most. The broth adds some flavor and the coconut milk is creamier than just almond milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Made as directed, no changes except to add a little chopped celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
excellent recipe! I followed some of the reviews and only used one pot. I diced the carrots extra small (so my picky eaters couldn't pick them out) and sauted them with the onions. I then added 2 cups vegi broth, pepper and potatoes. After the potatoes are cooked i added a bag of frozen broccoli and 3 cups organic half and half. Served it with crumbled bacon and shredded cheese on top. yuuummmmm. definitly a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States