Old-Fashioned Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
So very good, the only thing I added was some cooked bacon and celery for my personal taste. Very good base for other soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Yum! Few changes: I used chicken stock instead of bouillon powder. I threw some cilantro in there instead of parsley. I also added chicken, because my husband hates it when I don't give him meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
Made this for a friend who had sore gums. Boy was it good - will make again for sure. Didn't have fresh carrots so used canned - worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I made it just like the recipe but doubled it for leftovers, added ham and it is the best soup I ever had. One thing I did do was use some potato flakes to thicken it a little
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chula Vista, California, USA
Living In: Antelope, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I used almost about a half a cup of flour to thicken up the broth. The soup still had great flavor also used 6 boulioun cubes instead of powder. My family devoured the whole pot. Can't wait to make it again to add a few extras...bacon and celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Connellsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This is delicious. I was worried about making it dairy-free for an allergy, but it worked perfectly. I used coconut milk (Thai Kitchen and So Delicious) and Earth Balance butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Just like my mom used to make!!! I didn't vary from the original recipe at all except I made it vegan. I used soy milk (original unsweetened) and Smart Balance butter (which is vegan). It turns out super creamy and delicious! I will definitely be making this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lellybug

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Great Base Recipe! I did tweak a bit but thats because i had not choice based on what i had in the pantry. I boiled 3 cups water, the creamy chicken season packet out of a pack of ramen(i didnt have chx bouillion), about 8 small golden potatoes cubed with skin-on, a dash of thyme, basil, & parsley. In a sep pan i fried 5 pieces of bacon let cool, crumbled, added to potatoes. I put the flour, & milk in the bacon grease along with garlic & onion powder made soupy gravy added to potatoes simmered for 5 mins added shredded cheddar & mozz voila tweaked on hand potato soup!! YUMO
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
My version turned out bland. To save it, I added another teaspoon of the chicken buillon powder, some potato flakes (I had only 5 potatoes on hand), crushed red pepper flakes and a cup of water, as my soup was very thick. The final result was OK, but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Best potato soup I've ever had! I didn't have parsley and added celery. Thyme in potato soup is new to me, but soooo good. I think this is the ONLY thing I've cooked and not added garlic to. It's perfect without it.... never thought I would say that about anything lol. Seriously AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States