Old-Fashioned Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
This is my favorite potato soup and it's just the way I like it. I have been looking for a recipe for so long that was like this. I used half and half and heavy cream since I happened to have them in the fridge, then thinned it out with water. I left the rest exactly as the recipe called for. Everybody LOVED it! It would be easy to add extra things (corn, celery, ham, etc.) to change it for personal preference. Thank you for this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
So very good, the only thing I added was some cooked bacon and celery for my personal taste. Very good base for other soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Yum! Few changes: I used chicken stock instead of bouillon powder. I threw some cilantro in there instead of parsley. I also added chicken, because my husband hates it when I don't give him meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
Made this for a friend who had sore gums. Boy was it good - will make again for sure. Didn't have fresh carrots so used canned - worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I made it just like the recipe but doubled it for leftovers, added ham and it is the best soup I ever had. One thing I did do was use some potato flakes to thicken it a little
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chula Vista, California, USA
Living In: Antelope, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I used almost about a half a cup of flour to thicken up the broth. The soup still had great flavor also used 6 boulioun cubes instead of powder. My family devoured the whole pot. Can't wait to make it again to add a few extras...bacon and celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Connellsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This is delicious. I was worried about making it dairy-free for an allergy, but it worked perfectly. I used coconut milk (Thai Kitchen and So Delicious) and Earth Balance butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Just like my mom used to make!!! I didn't vary from the original recipe at all except I made it vegan. I used soy milk (original unsweetened) and Smart Balance butter (which is vegan). It turns out super creamy and delicious! I will definitely be making this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lellybug

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Great Base Recipe! I did tweak a bit but thats because i had not choice based on what i had in the pantry. I boiled 3 cups water, the creamy chicken season packet out of a pack of ramen(i didnt have chx bouillion), about 8 small golden potatoes cubed with skin-on, a dash of thyme, basil, & parsley. In a sep pan i fried 5 pieces of bacon let cool, crumbled, added to potatoes. I put the flour, & milk in the bacon grease along with garlic & onion powder made soupy gravy added to potatoes simmered for 5 mins added shredded cheddar & mozz voila tweaked on hand potato soup!! YUMO
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
My version turned out bland. To save it, I added another teaspoon of the chicken buillon powder, some potato flakes (I had only 5 potatoes on hand), crushed red pepper flakes and a cup of water, as my soup was very thick. The final result was OK, but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States