Old-Fashioned Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Amazing soup! Loved how it was simple yet amazingly delicious. It is also surprisingly hardy..filled both my boyfriend and I right up with one bowl. Added some corn and red pepper flakes for spice..which I thought made it even more spectacular
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
very good, basic recipe, flexible for personal tastes, adding seasonings and spices to taste won't be overpowering. i used golddust potatoes. also, i used cornstarch instead of flour. will adjust for a thicker broth in the future. i used the settings to adjust for 8 ppl b/c my family likes to eat, and it'll be good for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shymama8

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
To thicken soup so don't have to make a roux i add instant potato flakes. Works great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Kuykendall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Farmer City, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
This is what I call Potato Soup! Added celery to the onion while cooking it. I made a double batch and it turned out great. Even better the next day. I used other seasonings because just didn't have the thyme and parsley handy. Let it cook for a good long time. It was a big hit with the kids even!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
This was delicious! I too made it one-pot by just whisking the flour in the milk at the end. My adjustments: I used Yukon gold potatoes unpeeled for added nutrition and firmer texture. Replaced a cup of the milk with some sour cream that I needed to use up. Used homemade chicken broth instead of water & bouillon and added salt to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
This turned out really well and was super easy to make. Perfect when you are craving a comfort soup. The only change I made was that I added a stalk of celery (diced, including leaves) and I didn't use the bouillon, just seasoned with salt, pepper and herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I made this soup last night it was easy and delicious. I used purple potatoes as that was the only kind I had on hand.I used organic whole non homogenized milk so creamy.I will definitely make this a regular winter soup in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I really loved this soup!! I used powdered milk, since it was what I had on hand, and I followed the recommendation to cook the whole thing in one pot rather than using two. I also pureed the soup, which gave me a more creamy texture. It was definitely a keeper...I'll be using this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
wow! so easy to cook and prepare! not to mention delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
Great soup! I used vegetable broth and used evaporated milk for part of the milk. I also put everything in the slow cooker on low after I sauteed the onions. Other than that, I kept it the same and everyone loved it! It was great warmed up the next day too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States