Old-Fashioned Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Brooke Haynes
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
This was great! I used 3 bouillon cubes. I softened the onion in butter, added potatoes and carrots and let cook for a minute while stirring. I added water, added 2 cups milk and whisked last cup milk with 4 tbsp flour in separate bowl then added into soup. I added salt and pepper and just a sprinkle of thyme. It is a great soup for a cold, snowy day like today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke Haynes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I am a Mother of two boys and a little girl, all of whom are EXTREMELY picky eaters. However I hit gold with this recipe! Easy to and quick to make, it's just perfect for cold rainy days, sick days or just in the mood for a great soup day! This is now a must have on our menu. Thanks so much for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by carolescookin'
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Well, I (accidentally) used double the butter! Yum. Not low calorie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
This was so good on a cold rainy night. I didn't have any carrots or dried parsley so I just made it without, topped with green onions, sour cream and bacon bits this soup was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I followed recipe and it was delicious!!! Served it over some toasted sourdough bread chunks, my family LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This was the second time that I have made this recipe and it was a hit both times. I added 1/2 lb of turkey sausage this time & a bit more flour. Definitely a new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Good base recipe, I added celery, kale, red pepper flakes and fresh garlic and used 4 chicken cubes and 4 cups of milk because it was just a tad thicker then I like. Topped w/ cheddar cheese. The thyme was a new change for me, its different but I like it :). I would use a little less onion next time and add bacon (didnt have any).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal42683

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Amazing soup! Loved how it was simple yet amazingly delicious. It is also surprisingly hardy..filled both my boyfriend and I right up with one bowl. Added some corn and red pepper flakes for spice..which I thought made it even more spectacular
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
very good, basic recipe, flexible for personal tastes, adding seasonings and spices to taste won't be overpowering. i used golddust potatoes. also, i used cornstarch instead of flour. will adjust for a thicker broth in the future. i used the settings to adjust for 8 ppl b/c my family likes to eat, and it'll be good for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shymama8

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
To thicken soup so don't have to make a roux i add instant potato flakes. Works great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Kuykendall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Farmer City, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States