Old-Fashioned Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
The recipe, as written, is bland. It needs cheese and salt to flavor it. I used vegetable stock and didn't have parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
The soup was average. It was't clear if you were supposed to drain the potatoes before putting into the milk mixture or if you need to added the water/broth to the mixture along with the potatoes. The soup was good enough for an Sunday afternoon meal, but the leftovers sat in the fridge until they needed to be thrown out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L Alexander

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
Very good and filling soup! Mine took a little longer to make than the time the recipe called for. I served it with salad and sandwiches one evening for an easy dinner. My boyfriend loved it ! It tasted evn better with lots of shredded cheddar on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
A little bland, some salt picks up the flavor though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loki Made Me Do It!

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bedford, Texas, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
This is a very yummy, hearty soup. I didn't have chicken broth, so I did like another viewer suggested and put the potatoes in with onions after they were translucent, then added water. I mixed dry milk powder with the flour and added to water when potatoes were cooked. (I didn't have carrots, either, but it would be really nice with them.) I seasoned the soup as stated, except I forgot the thyme, and I added garlic powder to boost the flavor. It was really good, and would be even better served with chopped bacon pieces and cheese like others recommended! Good, fast and tasty is always what I need, and this fit the bill nicely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vernal, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
Very delicious! This makes a definite full 6 servings if not more. I doubled it thinking it may not be accurate and now have enough for the next month!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
Made this on a day when comfort food was what I wanted and it filled the bill admirably. Changed the method a bit, though because having to wash two stockpots would have made it that much less comforting. Cooked the onion, as directed, then added the potatoes and carrots to the onion, sauteed for about 5 minutes on medium low heat, added vegetable broth, brought to a boil, and then simmered, covered, for about 15 minutes, till potatoes were tender. Added herbs and pepper, and 2 cups of milk. Whisked flour with the other cup of milk, and added it to the simmering soup. Cooked till thickened. Served bowls of grated cheese and crumbled bacon (for the meat eaters in the family) on the side, and some lovely cheese toast. Felt much better afterward. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DYLANSMOM
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
I loved this recipe and my family did too. I made a few small changes to fit our tastes. Instead of the chicken bullion & water, I used prepared chicken stock. It turned out great! I'll be making this again. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DYLANSMOM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
LOVE how simple this is. LOVE how you don't need heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
Very good soup, i used chicken stock in place of water. Every loved the sou. Will Make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States