Old-Fashioned Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
I used soy milk instead of cows milk because my mother prefers it. The soy milk creates a sweet taste though, so I don't really recommend it unless you know how to cover it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I used the slow cooker for the potatoes and broth until the potatoes were done. I didn't have any parsley so, I used cilantro and added frozen corn at the very end (they cooled down the soup just enough so I could have some right away---I have no patience when the soup smells so good!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
This is really good! I have never made a recipe before where you use onions as part of making the "white sauce" (butter, flour, milk mixture). I like that technique. Although it is a great recipe, I may try either reducing or eliminating the chicken boullion next time. That way it will be closer to the potato soup my mom made when I was growing up. I think that recipe may have come from an old Betty Crocker cookbook. I added one stalk of celery to my soup, and sautéed it along with the onion. I added one carrot (the recipe calls for carrots) even though I have never made potato soup before using carrots. Great recipe! You won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Smithfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
It's decent, but not packed with any flavor. Better be sure to have some additional spices to personalize it. I used garlic salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Delicious! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
As other reviewers suggested, I combined ingredients to use only one pot. Also added some broccoli & cauliflower. This was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
I just made this! It is very good. Thank you for sharing! I did not have any white wine, but will definitely add it next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AFChik

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Easy to make and tasty. Enjoyed the leftovers even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lilmrshaynes
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
This was great! I used 3 bouillon cubes. I softened the onion in butter, added potatoes and carrots and let cook for a minute while stirring. I added water, added 2 cups milk and whisked last cup milk with 4 tbsp flour in separate bowl then added into soup. I added salt and pepper and just a sprinkle of thyme. It is a great soup for a cold, snowy day like today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I am a Mother of two boys and a little girl, all of whom are EXTREMELY picky eaters. However I hit gold with this recipe! Easy to and quick to make, it's just perfect for cold rainy days, sick days or just in the mood for a great soup day! This is now a must have on our menu. Thanks so much for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States