Old Fashioned Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
I really enjoyed this recipe. I did make some minor changes--I added extra mayo to make it less dry, I used dill pickles that I cut up instead of the sweet relish, and I cut up the potatoes prior to cooking to cut down on the cooking time. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
667 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
Wow. I never made potatoe salad before and this disappeared very quickly. I cut the onion measurement in 1/2 and grated it. Only used 2 eggs. Didn't have celery seeds or mustard.Dry mustard would be a nice touch. Put more like 4 heeping tblspn of mayo, and I chopped up dill pickle with some extra pickle juice. The search is over for a really good potatoe salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
532 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
My husband was craving potato salad so after looking at a few different recipies I tried this one. It was really good! It is better the next day so make it a day in advance if possible. I added more mayo so it wasn't dry. It definately is a classic picnic potato salad. I will definately make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
466 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tooele, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I really enjoyed reading through the reviews to see other reviewers personal touches they put on their own potato salad. I can tell you I never was a fan of potato salad until I started making my own and then it was over from there. It really does come down to personal preferances and it's really personal, really. Because we wanted a tamer onion flavor, I used green onion. I used dill pickles instead of sweet as we don't care for sweet pickles, and I used garlic powder instead of garlic salt. After mixing the potato salad ingredients, I found that mine needed more mayo. Not much, maybe a little under another quarter cup? I added chopped chives, onion powder and a couple good shakes of Frank's Hot Sauce to my potato salad as that's what I always add to all my potato salad--it's a family favorite. Nice basic potato salad that we all enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
207 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2002
I made a few changes - 2 lbs. red potatoes, reduced eggs to 2, reduced sweet pickle relish to 1 heaping tablespoon, reduced mustard to less than 1 tablespoon and increased mayonnaise to more than 1 cup. Turned out great.My husband loved this recipe. He said it was the best he has had in years and it has a flavorful and clean taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
189 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
This was my first attempt at potato salad...and I have to admit that I was a bit disappointed. It didn't wow me like I thought it would, and it didn't have the best reaction from the family. My grandma usually makes hers and didn't this year, so this dish had a lot to live up to. Don't get me wrong, it was "good", just not "great". I think I will let grandma keep making the potato salad from now on...but thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
I have made this Potato Salad several times, and each time it is wonderful. People are always asking for recipe. I do adjust mayo and pickle relish to my own personal taste, which means I add more of each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
Pretty good and tastes a lot like my mom's. I didn't add the relish and added an extra egg. I also used a combination of mayo and miracle whip for a little more flavor also using dijon mustard vs. yellow mustard makes a big difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2003
i had to make a few changes on this recipe- i cut the celery down to 1/2 cup, 1/3 cup onion, and substituted diced kosher dill pickles for the relish. also, i had to add more mayo, because it was really too dry, and kicked up the mustard a bit. added pickle juice to it, used 6 potatoes and 2 eggs. so i pretty much just made my own recipe... but it was still good. i made it last night for myself and the rest of my family (i'm 16) found it and ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2003
Converted recipe for 125 servings and it was a hit. I added a little more mayonnaise than called for. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 624) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Warm Steak and Potato Salad

Learn how to make a satisfying salad with the addition of steak and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States