Old Fashioned Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
As one of my guests exclaimed, "This taste just like my Grandma used to make it"! A BIG hit with guests and will forever keep this combination of ingredients close by. I may put in a bit more mayo & mustard next time to offer it a bit more of a creamier texture. Otherwise, I have found my base recipe for potato salad!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
This recipe is just like grandma used to make but with a little oomph. I did not have garlic salt or celery salt, so I used 1/2 tsp. table salt, 1/4 tsp celery seed and 1/8 tsp. garlic powder. I finally found my perfect potato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
i made this for work since we BBQ every monday. I am not much for Potato salad because of Mayo but this was amazing. i didn't change anything except I added Bacon Bits because lets face it who doesn't like bacon. I work in an office of all men except me. they went crazy over this. thanks for this recipe adding Bacon you can never go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
This potato salad is good but rather dry. I use only 1/2 cup of sliced celery and 1/3 or 1/2 c. of chopped sweet onion. I prefer to use a small bowl to mix well 3/4 to 1 cup of Helleman or Best mayonnaise with 1 to 2 tbsp.mustard in a small bowl. Add about 3 tbsp. chopped dill pickles and 2 tbsp. pickle juice with about 1 to 2 tsp of sugar and 1/2 tsp salt and 1/4 tsp. black paper. Taste dressing before add to the cooled diced potatoes and chopped eggs, chopped onion and celery. Refrigerate the potato salad 1 to 2 days before serving so it gives more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Thumbs up! Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
Delicious! I made it exactly as written and it turned out awesome! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
This was the first time I've ever made a mayo based potato salad. It was fairly easy, a little time consuming but very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
The perfect basic recipe.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gunda

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Awesome recipe. I used only half of the relish to suit the tastes of my husband. I think it would have been a tad too sweet otherwise. Really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Loved this recipe and my family did as well. Used table salt instead of celery salt, and added 1 Tbl. of chopped pimento for color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 616) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States