Old Fashioned Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 23, 2012
Made no changes to recipe and this was a hit at a family gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Lorena, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
***** I like this recipe as written, but I made a few changes to suit me. Instead of garlic salt, I used garlic powder. Instead of celery salt, I used celery seed. That way I can use a salt substitute, as I need to watch the sodium. I also added a tablespoon of dried parsley & because I like food that is zingy, I doubled the onion & the mustard. Instead of boiling the potatos & then cubing them, I peel & cube them & then boil them. Also, since I like the taste of eggs in the salad but hate the texture(too rubbery!), after peeling the eggs I run them through a mini food processor. Lastly, I like to mix all the ingredients but the potatos together to insure that they are well blended & then add the potatos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
Absolutely delicious! Thanks for sharing. I usually make a 'mashed potato' salad with kosher dill pickles but this was refreshingly different. Hope my guests enjoy it tomorrow but it they don't more for me! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
Easy to make. Family loved it. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Hunlock Creek, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
This was good, quick, and better the next day. I added about 1/8 cup of Miracle Whip and used chopped sweet pickles (1/4 C) and it was creamy with just the right sweetness. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Elkins, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
I have been makng this potato salad for yrs, my grandma, and my mom made it this way, i just added 2 more eggs, and a bit more mayo, it makes me feel that I'm not the only family that prepares it this way, thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Perfect potato salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AdrienneinUtah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
Good base recipe for simple potato salad. I wanted mine with mostly potato, so I used 6 fairly large red-skinned potatoes, and two hard boiled eggs, and reduced the onion to 1/3 of a cup. I don't like raw celery, so I skipped it, and increased the amount of celery salt to about a teaspoon, and used garlic powder instead of garlic salt, so it wouldn't be way too salty. I added about 1/4 cup of halved green olives, with pimentos, and separated the pimentos from the olives. I don't care for pickle relish, so I used a tablespoon of fresh snipped dill weed, and a teaspoon of sugar. It seemed like it would be dry with just 1/4 cup of mayo, so I upped it to 1/2 cup. and added 2 tablespoons of sour cream to make it a little creamier and less dry, and I thought that was the perfect amount. Finally I added a couple of shakes of paprika when I added in the black pepper. I liked everything about my version except the green olives. I think next time I will just get a jar of pimentos and add more of them without the olives. Make sure to give it several hours to chill. My fiance and I both thought it tasted better a day after being cooked, after all the flavors had time to blend together
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by traceyposner
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Just like my mom made when I was growing up! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
This is just what the title says...good old fashioned potato salad. For our tastes, this would have been too sweet, so I cut way back on the pickle relish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 622) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States