Old Fashioned Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
I made this adjusting qty to taste. At the end I thought it was missing something so I added some red wine vinegar and that fixed it. It is now chilling in the fridge and I can't wait to dig in. Thank you for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
If You would add a little bit of vinegar to this recipe it would give it the boost you're looking for. Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
I made this and I love it. I did add extra mayo, and about 1/4 cup of plain yogurt, a splash of agave syrup and about 1/4 tsp of paprika. I put 1 egg onto the salad and sliced 2 eggs and layed them across the top, sprinkled with paprika. It's delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
This is very much like the basic recipe I've used for years. My family does not like relish so I've omitted that but a friend's mother added an item I've now used also - peeled and sliced and diced cucumber. Along with the celery it adds a nice crunch and a very good flavor. Have never seen this in any potato salad recipe but recommend it highly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
Really good! And please, what real cook doesn't adjust their recipes a little? This one definitely has all the right stuff. I didn't add anything -- just adjusted ingredients a little to suit our tastes. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
I make mine two ways, depending on my mood. One way is just like this except I cut up some sweet gherkins instead of relish. This is how my mom always made it. Second way is to leave out the eggs, add dill pickle, black olives, and some capers. Two different slants on an American classic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Indian Wells, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2015
I have been making potato salad like this for years, but I always use chopped dill pickles instead of sweet pickle relish. I chop the celery finer and omit the celery salt and the garlic salt. I use table salt to taste. I'm rating it a five when using dill pickles instead of sweet relish. My family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2015
A delicious, basic potato salad that will be great for the Fourth of July (but I couldn't wait)! I halved the recipe and also added some shredded carrots, garlic and onion powders, parsley, celery seed (not salt) and hot sauce. I added a little seasoned salt (so didn't add regular or garlic salt) and also some chopped green olives and shredded carrots. I subbed Dijon mustard for the yellow. The reviewers' suggestions are always helpful. I added the mayo to get the creaminess that I wanted. I'm sure this will better as it stands! Happy Fourth of July!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2015
These are the exact ingredients I have used for 60 years that I learned from my Mama. The only thing we both did not include was garlic salt (which I would have no problem using a pinch). It's a classic. I learned to like red potato German salad much later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Moss

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2015
My friend suggested I try this for something different and the family was not thrilled with the change from "grandma's" recipe. It works much better if you mix the mustard and mayo together before adding the eggs and potatoes. I also skipped the relish and pepper, but did add some dill pickle juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 656) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Restaurant-Style Potato Salad

A quick and easy, creamy potato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States