Old Fashioned Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2015
I really enjoyed this recipe although I was out of celery salt & I added extra eggs & mayo, I think it's a southern thing, but my family & I really enjoyed this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jr.
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2015
I will use this recipe again. I chopped the potatoes first, adding garlic salt for flavor and vinegar to the water so they don't overcook. I only used 4 potatoes. Turned out a little extra saucy, which is fine. And I added some dill weed. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2015
Too bland, too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2015
This was a wonderful recipe. It reminded me of the potato salad my aunt used to make when I was growing up. I only made one change by doubling the amount of mayo used. Other than that, I made it exactly by the recipe. This was an easy recipe to make. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2015
The only thing I do differently is blend the mustard & mayo salt & pepper (might add a touch of milk to make it creamier) and pour it over the potatoes & eggs so they don't take such a beating with all the stirring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2015
yes, I made it tonight. It is now chilling in the fridge. I tasted it and loved it. I used red potatoes and cooked them way past what the recipe said, b/c I forgot they were still boiling. Having read some of the negative reviews, I am glad I didn't undercook them. I had only 2 eggs, so that's what's in it. All the rest of the ingred. I had, except the celery seed. I'm sure it will be great tomorrow. Thanks for a good recipe. I read someone thought it needed sugar! EWW, no.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westbury, New York, USA
Living In: Flushing, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
I made this adjusting qty to taste. At the end I thought it was missing something so I added some red wine vinegar and that fixed it. It is now chilling in the fridge and I can't wait to dig in. Thank you for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
A little bit of vinegar to this recipe it would give it a boost. Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
I made this and I love it. I did add extra mayo, and about 1/4 cup of plain yogurt, a splash of agave syrup and about 1/4 tsp of paprika. I put 1 egg onto the salad and sliced 2 eggs and layed them across the top, sprinkled with paprika. It's delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
My family does not like relish so I've omitted that but a friend's mother added an item I've now used also - peeled and sliced and diced cucumber. Along with the celery it adds a nice crunch and a very good flavor. Have never seen this in any potato salad recipe but recommend it highly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 664) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Restaurant-Style Potato Salad

A quick and easy, creamy potato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States