Old Fashioned Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
I really enjoyed this recipe. I did make some minor changes--I added extra mayo to make it less dry, I used dill pickles that I cut up instead of the sweet relish, and I cut up the potatoes prior to cooking to cut down on the cooking time. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
643 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
Wow. I never made potatoe salad before and this disappeared very quickly. I cut the onion measurement in 1/2 and grated it. Only used 2 eggs. Didn't have celery seeds or mustard.Dry mustard would be a nice touch. Put more like 4 heeping tblspn of mayo, and I chopped up dill pickle with some extra pickle juice. The search is over for a really good potatoe salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
519 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
My husband was craving potato salad so after looking at a few different recipies I tried this one. It was really good! It is better the next day so make it a day in advance if possible. I added more mayo so it wasn't dry. It definately is a classic picnic potato salad. I will definately make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
452 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tooele, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I really enjoyed reading through the reviews to see other reviewers personal touches they put on their own potato salad. I can tell you I never was a fan of potato salad until I started making my own and then it was over from there. It really does come down to personal preferances and it's really personal, really. Because we wanted a tamer onion flavor, I used green onion. I used dill pickles instead of sweet as we don't care for sweet pickles, and I used garlic powder instead of garlic salt. After mixing the potato salad ingredients, I found that mine needed more mayo. Not much, maybe a little under another quarter cup? I added chopped chives, onion powder and a couple good shakes of Frank's Hot Sauce to my potato salad as that's what I always add to all my potato salad--it's a family favorite. Nice basic potato salad that we all enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
205 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2002
I made a few changes - 2 lbs. red potatoes, reduced eggs to 2, reduced sweet pickle relish to 1 heaping tablespoon, reduced mustard to less than 1 tablespoon and increased mayonnaise to more than 1 cup. Turned out great.My husband loved this recipe. He said it was the best he has had in years and it has a flavorful and clean taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
182 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
This was my first attempt at potato salad...and I have to admit that I was a bit disappointed. It didn't wow me like I thought it would, and it didn't have the best reaction from the family. My grandma usually makes hers and didn't this year, so this dish had a lot to live up to. Don't get me wrong, it was "good", just not "great". I think I will let grandma keep making the potato salad from now on...but thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
Pretty good and tastes a lot like my mom's. I didn't add the relish and added an extra egg. I also used a combination of mayo and miracle whip for a little more flavor also using dijon mustard vs. yellow mustard makes a big difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
I have made this Potato Salad several times, and each time it is wonderful. People are always asking for recipe. I do adjust mayo and pickle relish to my own personal taste, which means I add more of each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2003
i had to make a few changes on this recipe- i cut the celery down to 1/2 cup, 1/3 cup onion, and substituted diced kosher dill pickles for the relish. also, i had to add more mayo, because it was really too dry, and kicked up the mustard a bit. added pickle juice to it, used 6 potatoes and 2 eggs. so i pretty much just made my own recipe... but it was still good. i made it last night for myself and the rest of my family (i'm 16) found it and ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2003
Converted recipe for 125 servings and it was a hit. I added a little more mayonnaise than called for. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 616) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States