Old Fashioned Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Absolutely hands down the very best potatoe salad that I have ever had!!! Everyone at the party was asking for the recipe! It is simple old-fashioned elegant salad! Best taste! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
Delicious tasting potato salad, though I'm not a sweet relish ran. I substituted 1/2 teaspoon dillweed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Great recipe. I made just a couple changes…used scallions instead of onions and added chopped Wickles pickles (not sure if they are available nationwide) in place of the sweet relish. Wickles pickles are a great combination of sweet and spicy which added some zing. I also used half sour cream and half mayo to eliminate the heavy mayo flavor. Excellent! Will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
Add 1/4 Cup of Cilantro and 2-4 Hot peppers Grilled and/or finely chopped for a spicy kick! This is a great Potato Salad either way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jimmy Becerra

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
What a wonderful surprise. This has been a family favorite for years This is the exact recipe I learned in Grandma's kitchen over 40 years ago. My mom made one adjustment. She prefers Miracle Whip instead of mayo. Thanks for the memories
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EBONY3
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
This came out really good after a few changes were made. I omitted the celery, garlic and celery salt. Instead, I added finely chopped red and green bell peppers, a little vinegar and a small amount of sugar. It reminded me of the potato salad my Mom used to make when I was growing up. I will definitely be making this again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EBONY3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Road Town, Tortola, British Virgin Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Delicious. Exactly what I have been looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
If you use red potatoes, there is no need to peel--the peels add color and flavor. I use some chopped dill pickle in addition to the sweet relish, and use a little pickle juice to add tang and cut down on amount of mayonaise needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tillamook, Oregon, USA
Living In: Oxnard, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
This recipe is just what it says it is, old fashioned potato salad. My guests and I LOVED it. I made it the night before and let it meld overnight. This made it much easier to concentrate on the Fourth of July slow cooked baby back ribs... If you are looking for grandmas potato salad, look no further.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by George Van Aken

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
As one of my guests exclaimed, "This taste just like my Grandma used to make it"! A BIG hit with guests and will forever keep this combination of ingredients close by. I may put in a bit more mayo & mustard next time to offer it a bit more of a creamier texture. Otherwise, I have found my base recipe for potato salad!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 634) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Warm Steak and Potato Salad

Learn how to make a satisfying salad with the addition of steak and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States