Old Fashioned Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 24, 2013
I loved this recipe and is very easy. I used 6 potatoes and probably should have cooked more as it's really good. I modified the receipt it a bit by peeling the potatoes and cutting them in wedge bite size pieces which cut down the boiling time. I then rinsed off the potatoes with cold water to firm them up a little. I added Ranch Dressing and mayonaise for taste, plus added a little yellow mustard for color and taste. I omitted the celery Salt, as the garlic salt is enough. I used 4 hard boiled eggs.. I cut down on the onion, but used a sweet onion instead. SO... good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
I prefer more mayonnaise, not sure about that much onion. I added a tablespoon of vinegar & 2 tablespoons of oil. Makes it much more moist. I have put sliced olives for my grandkids. I guess I prefer my moms the most.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
I also add some celery seed and find 2 eggs is enough and I use sweet pickles instead of relish. I am going to make that for our Fathers Day get together. Joana
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
Perfect, just like granny's :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
So yummy, I can just eat this for a meal. And I don't really like potato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
I'm not a fan of potato salad in general but I was asked to prepare one so I tried this recipe. Cooking time for the potatoes was not enought so my potatoes weren't cooked enough (even though I boiled them longer than instructed). I thought the recipe was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Loved it. Like others who reviewed this recipes, I added extra mayo. Otherwise, followed the recipe and have made this salad three times in the last two weeks. My husband's also a huge fan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
I made this recipe today and it is pretty stellar! I put some green onion in there too, and used dill relish instead of sweet because that is my preference.... But really it was a great base to start from and then I was able to customize it how I wanted it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
I also made some minor changes to the recipe. I halved the mayo and added sour cream to make up the difference. Instead of garlic salt and sweet pickles I used minced garlic and dill pickles and also added green onions and an extra egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I grew up on potato salad, but could not remember how my mom made it. So when I found this recipe I figure I would try it. I just got done making it and it is REALLY good. The only thing I did diffrent was I used Miricle Whip which made it more creamy, added some more mustard, and chopped up eggs. Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 641) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Restaurant-Style Potato Salad

A quick and easy, creamy potato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States