Old Fashioned Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
i made this for work since we BBQ every monday. I am not much for Potato salad because of Mayo but this was amazing. i didn't change anything except I added Bacon Bits because lets face it who doesn't like bacon. I work in an office of all men except me. they went crazy over this. thanks for this recipe adding Bacon you can never go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
This potato salad is good but rather dry. I use only 1/2 cup of sliced celery and 1/3 or 1/2 c. of chopped sweet onion. I prefer to use a small bowl to mix well 3/4 to 1 cup of Helleman or Best mayonnaise with 1 to 2 tbsp.mustard in a small bowl. Add about 3 tbsp. chopped dill pickles and 2 tbsp. pickle juice with about 1 to 2 tsp of sugar and 1/2 tsp salt and 1/4 tsp. black paper. Taste dressing before add to the cooled diced potatoes and chopped eggs, chopped onion and celery. Refrigerate the potato salad 1 to 2 days before serving so it gives more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Thumbs up! Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
Delicious! I made it exactly as written and it turned out awesome! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
This was the first time I've ever made a mayo based potato salad. It was fairly easy, a little time consuming but very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
The perfect basic recipe.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gunda

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Awesome recipe. I used only half of the relish to suit the tastes of my husband. I think it would have been a tad too sweet otherwise. Really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Loved this recipe and my family did as well. Used table salt instead of celery salt, and added 1 Tbl. of chopped pimento for color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
This was the first time I ever made potato salad and it came out perfectly!!! Would not change a thing! Wonderful, wonderful...thank you for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimmer

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
I don't know if I did something wrong, but I was pretty underwhelmed with this salad. I won't be making it again. There was no flavour! My husband said he "didn't hate it, but it was pretty bland".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 604) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States