Old Fashioned Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Perfect potato salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AdrienneinUtah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
Good base recipe for simple potato salad. I wanted mine with mostly potato, so I used 6 fairly large red-skinned potatoes, and two hard boiled eggs, and reduced the onion to 1/3 of a cup. I don't like raw celery, so I skipped it, and increased the amount of celery salt to about a teaspoon, and used garlic powder instead of garlic salt, so it wouldn't be way too salty. I added about 1/4 cup of halved green olives, with pimentos, and separated the pimentos from the olives. I don't care for pickle relish, so I used a tablespoon of fresh snipped dill weed, and a teaspoon of sugar. It seemed like it would be dry with just 1/4 cup of mayo, so I upped it to 1/2 cup. and added 2 tablespoons of sour cream to make it a little creamier and less dry, and I thought that was the perfect amount. Finally I added a couple of shakes of paprika when I added in the black pepper. I liked everything about my version except the green olives. I think next time I will just get a jar of pimentos and add more of them without the olives. Make sure to give it several hours to chill. My fiance and I both thought it tasted better a day after being cooked, after all the flavors had time to blend together
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by traceyposner
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Just like my mom made when I was growing up! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
This is just what the title says...good old fashioned potato salad. For our tastes, this would have been too sweet, so I cut way back on the pickle relish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: May 1, 2012
This is very good! I don't care for sweet relish at all, so I just chopped up some of my home-canned dill pickles that I canned last fall. Great with a grilled burger and my husband gives it 5 forks up. Thanks for a delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
This is a great old fashioned recipe. Basic ingredients are all here. You can add or deduct any of the ingredients to your particular taste. I have never used garlic salt in potato salad before, but found I liked it very much. Little green onions would be good in season also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Nothing beats my Mom's but this was pretty good! I doubled the recipe and followed as is except I chopped up bread and butter pickles since I didn't have relish and I also added a tablespoon of vinegar. As in some of the pictures I garnished with chopped egg slices and paprika. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
Tweaked the relish to my favorite (tangy dill), had 5 leftover eggs from Easter, and a couple more potatoes, and free-handed the mayo. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
My boyfriend and I both found this potato salad disgusting. I followed the recipe exactly how it says. So disappointing and such a waist of ingredients. The flavor was gross and did not taste like any Old Fashioned potato salad I've ever tried. I will never make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Very good, helpful tip, I peeled and cut up the potatoes and put the eggs in with them to boil. Also cut up sweet pickles and added as opposed to the relish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 616) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States