Old Fashioned Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 28, 2012
I don't know if I did something wrong, but I was pretty underwhelmed with this salad. I won't be making it again. There was no flavour! My husband said he "didn't hate it, but it was pretty bland".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Valorie
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Good. I did use Miracle Whip and added more than the recipe calls for, about 1 Cup...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valorie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2012
I don't know why a few people did not like this recipe. I put everything in there except the celery salt. I added more or less of the ingredients upon my taste. I would make it again! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
Made no changes to recipe and this was a hit at a family gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Lorena, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
***** I like this recipe as written, but I made a few changes to suit me. Instead of garlic salt, I used garlic powder. Instead of celery salt, I used celery seed. That way I can use a salt substitute, as I need to watch the sodium. I also added a tablespoon of dried parsley & because I like food that is zingy, I doubled the onion & the mustard. Instead of boiling the potatos & then cubing them, I peel & cube them & then boil them. Also, since I like the taste of eggs in the salad but hate the texture(too rubbery!), after peeling the eggs I run them through a mini food processor. Lastly, I like to mix all the ingredients but the potatos together to insure that they are well blended & then add the potatos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
Absolutely delicious! Thanks for sharing. I usually make a 'mashed potato' salad with kosher dill pickles but this was refreshingly different. Hope my guests enjoy it tomorrow but it they don't more for me! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
Easy to make. Family loved it. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Hunlock Creek, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
This was good, quick, and better the next day. I added about 1/8 cup of Miracle Whip and used chopped sweet pickles (1/4 C) and it was creamy with just the right sweetness. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Elkins, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
I have been makng this potato salad for yrs, my grandma, and my mom made it this way, i just added 2 more eggs, and a bit more mayo, it makes me feel that I'm not the only family that prepares it this way, thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Perfect potato salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AdrienneinUtah

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 91-100 (of 624) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Warm Steak and Potato Salad

Learn how to make a satisfying salad with the addition of steak and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States