Old Fashioned Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Too much relish and onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicoletta Mincey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
This is an easy side dish to make. You definitely need to add about a cup or more of mayo. I also diced used about 1/2 a cup of diced kosher pickles and 1/2 cup of a cucumber. I used Mrs. Dash in place of the celery and garlic salt. Turned out great. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dani Nicole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
It was my first time making potato salad and no one knew it. They thought I had been making it for years. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Was a big hit at Christmas Eve lunch. I did reduce the number of eggs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mz~diyari
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I liked it, I used celery seed instead of salt, didn't have celery salt on hand, and a pinch of table salt. I took off a star, due to the fact that my eggs weren't done by boiling them on this method. I had to reboil them the normal way that I usually do. I also added a pinch of sugar, but that's my own personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mz~diyari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
I know that this boils down to personal preference so I don't think that it's a bad recipe, I just didn't go for it. This imho didn't have enough mayo and lacked flavor. I'm sure it's good for most, but I just didn't like it. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
This is just like mom used to make...yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Excellent classic recipe. I added bacon and a little more mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Great recipe. Of course I had to make changes. I dropped the celery altogether, simply because my roommate and I do not care for it that much. I also used russet potatoes; I don't think the recipe specified which type of potatoes to use. I read that russets are higher in starch and so cook more quickly...so I kept an I on them and removed the smaller ones first. Now for the big changes! I sauteed some onions and a chopped clove of garlic together until soft. I used more eggs than the recipe called for. I also allowed all ingredients to cool before mixing together....I think this made a big difference as well. Also used Dill relish not sweet relish! Since I added garlic I also added a couple of tablespoons of parmesan cheese. More mayo than mustard. I just eyeballed the ingredients. Seasoned with black pepper and Creole seasoning. This was my first attempt at making a potato salad but it turned out nearly the best I've ever eaten! What a great, informative, simple potato salad recipe. The recipe was easy to follow and it was simple to add or omit ingredients to taste. Good job jewellkay!!! -DustBuk3t
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
ok but potatoes were too hard
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thecritic

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 628) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Warm Steak and Potato Salad

Learn how to make a satisfying salad with the addition of steak and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States