Old Fashioned Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
What a wonderful surprise. This has been a family favorite for years This is the exact recipe I learned in Grandma's kitchen over 40 years ago. My mom made one adjustment. She prefers Miracle Whip instead of mayo. Thanks for the memories
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EBONY3
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
This came out really good after a few changes were made. I omitted the celery, garlic and celery salt. Instead, I added finely chopped red and green bell peppers, a little vinegar and a small amount of sugar. It reminded me of the potato salad my Mom used to make when I was growing up. I will definitely be making this again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EBONY3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Road Town, Tortola, British Virgin Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Delicious. Exactly what I have been looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
If you use red potatoes, there is no need to peel--the peels add color and flavor. I use some chopped dill pickle in addition to the sweet relish, and use a little pickle juice to add tang and cut down on amount of mayonaise needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tillamook, Oregon, USA
Living In: Oxnard, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
This recipe is just what it says it is, old fashioned potato salad. My guests and I LOVED it. I made it the night before and let it meld overnight. This made it much easier to concentrate on the Fourth of July slow cooked baby back ribs... If you are looking for grandmas potato salad, look no further.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by George Van Aken

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
As one of my guests exclaimed, "This taste just like my Grandma used to make it"! A BIG hit with guests and will forever keep this combination of ingredients close by. I may put in a bit more mayo & mustard next time to offer it a bit more of a creamier texture. Otherwise, I have found my base recipe for potato salad!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
This recipe is just like grandma used to make but with a little oomph. I did not have garlic salt or celery salt, so I used 1/2 tsp. table salt, 1/4 tsp celery seed and 1/8 tsp. garlic powder. I finally found my perfect potato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
i made this for work since we BBQ every monday. I am not much for Potato salad because of Mayo but this was amazing. i didn't change anything except I added Bacon Bits because lets face it who doesn't like bacon. I work in an office of all men except me. they went crazy over this. thanks for this recipe adding Bacon you can never go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
This potato salad is good but rather dry. I use only 1/2 cup of sliced celery and 1/3 or 1/2 c. of chopped sweet onion. I prefer to use a small bowl to mix well 3/4 to 1 cup of Helleman or Best mayonnaise with 1 to 2 tbsp.mustard in a small bowl. Add about 3 tbsp. chopped dill pickles and 2 tbsp. pickle juice with about 1 to 2 tsp of sugar and 1/2 tsp salt and 1/4 tsp. black paper. Taste dressing before add to the cooled diced potatoes and chopped eggs, chopped onion and celery. Refrigerate the potato salad 1 to 2 days before serving so it gives more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Thumbs up! Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 621) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States