Old Fashioned Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
I made this recipe today and it is pretty stellar! I put some green onion in there too, and used dill relish instead of sweet because that is my preference.... But really it was a great base to start from and then I was able to customize it how I wanted it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
I also made some minor changes to the recipe. I halved the mayo and added sour cream to make up the difference. Instead of garlic salt and sweet pickles I used minced garlic and dill pickles and also added green onions and an extra egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I grew up on potato salad, but could not remember how my mom made it. So when I found this recipe I figure I would try it. I just got done making it and it is REALLY good. The only thing I did diffrent was I used Miricle Whip which made it more creamy, added some more mustard, and chopped up eggs. Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
Great and easy recipe. My additions was dill weed - 1 tbsp More Mayo, and Tsp Dijon mustard added for tang, but not too much. Fresh Parsley & Paprika on the for the Pretty. This is my TEST run for this recipe. I plan to make it again for Easter. Every thing else was perfect. And, yes! Very yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoAnn Mardesich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Brea, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
This recipe was really dry and too mustard-y. It was not at all as I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
This recipe had very good flavor. The only thing I would change is how long I cooked the potatoes because with the given cooking time they ended up a little too firm for me. Other than that, here are a couple other small changes I made: Added about one 'stalk' of green onions, used less celery and yellow onion, had no garlic salt, used celery seed instead of celery salt, used g.p. Dijon mustard, and only two eggs. Oh yea, I also ran out of sweet relish so I literally only used a dash. It still ended up amazing and a little sweet just how I like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaceface92@gmail.com

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I made this last night for dinner as a side dish and it came out so good. I followed the recipe exactly and didn't change anything. I just had some for lunch and it is so much better the next day. So my only suggestion is to make it a day ahead!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OolyndeoO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I would love to give this five stars because on second try it ended up turning out really delicious, but can't because if you follow the directions you'll end up with tasteless potatoes that are mushy on the outside and crunchy on the inside. Peal and cut the potatoes BEFORE boiling, also add salt to your water and you'll end up with a really yummy potato salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I really liked this recipe. It turned out really well. I made some minor changes as well. I added more mayo and did not put in eggs or the relish. I am not really a fan of either. It turned out really well. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
This was great! Like everyone else, I added extra mayonnaise. I also didn't have celery salt, so I added dill and some salt instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Jones Frandsen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 635) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States