Old Fashioned Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
Really good! And please, what real cook doesn't adjust their recipes a little? This one definitely has all the right stuff. I didn't add anything -- just adjusted ingredients a little to suit our tastes. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
I make mine two ways, depending on my mood. One way is just like this except I cut up some sweet gherkins instead of relish. This is how my mom always made it. Second way is to leave out the eggs, add dill pickle, black olives, and some capers. Two different slants on an American classic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Indian Wells, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2015
I have been making potato salad like this for years, but I always use chopped dill pickles instead of sweet pickle relish. I chop the celery finer and omit the celery salt and the garlic salt. I use table salt to taste. I'm rating it a five when using dill pickles instead of sweet relish. My family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2015
A delicious, basic potato salad that will be great for the Fourth of July (but I couldn't wait)! I halved the recipe and also added some shredded carrots, garlic and onion powders, parsley, celery seed (not salt) and hot sauce. I added a little seasoned salt (so didn't add regular or garlic salt) and also some chopped green olives and shredded carrots. I subbed Dijon mustard for the yellow. The reviewers' suggestions are always helpful. I added the mayo to get the creaminess that I wanted. I'm sure this will better as it stands! Happy Fourth of July!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2015
These are the exact ingredients I have used for 60 years that I learned from my Mama. The only thing we both did not include was garlic salt (which I would have no problem using a pinch). It's a classic. I learned to like red potato German salad much later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Moss

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2015
My friend suggested I try this for something different and the family was not thrilled with the change from "grandma's" recipe. It works much better if you mix the mustard and mayo together before adding the eggs and potatoes. I also skipped the relish and pepper, but did add some dill pickle juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2015
This is almost the same recipe my mother taught me. A few changes: since no one here likes relish, I didn't use it. I add one medium cucumber, cut into small cubes, 4 or 5 radishes, diced and about 1 Tablespoon of fat-free ranch dressing. I also use a bit more mayo so the salad veggies are covered and not dry. It's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lockhart, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2015
I agree with jettyw78, a it more mayo and maybe dubble cream. Dill pickled gherkins is actually the best. Use the juice of the gherkins to savour the potatoes, its not so harsh in taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
I don't use relish--not a big fan. However, I like to use half low fat sour cream and half mayo. It makes it a little less heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
I have made this recipe for many years. The only changes..... I never measured anything, depending on how large the crowd. I added some of the sweet relish juice for moisture, mixed sour cream & mayonnaise, mustard together. Add salt & pepper to taste if needed. Leftovers (if any) good as long as it lasts. My son thought I should market it along with fried chicken! Another potato quickie---- When unexpected guests stick around for dinner. Dice the potatoes then boil them until tender, drain, make a cheddar cheese white sauce to pour over & lightly mix in. Guests will think you are a professional chef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 664) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Restaurant-Style Potato Salad

A quick and easy, creamy potato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States