Old Fashioned Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Love the recipe but I have people who does not like relish so instead I used vinegar and sugar and cut the onion in half or out and used onion powder instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Simple and Tasty! A big hit with everyone!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
This salad is great! I got so many compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
very good.I didn't use any celery because we don't care for it. i added 2 eggs to cut in slices and use on top for presentation. little extra mayonnaise... couple tablespoon fulls. also added green olives as we love them. takes like moms! thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherminator

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
My very picky family said this was the best potato salad they have ever had. The only thing I might add every once in awhile as an extra is some black olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Love this recipe. My finace never liked potato salad until I made this for him. Now, he asks me when I can make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I would love to rate this "as is"; however,I am rating with a few changes I made. As others suggested, I used green onions, half mayo/half sour cream, and added pickle relish. I also added about 1T of yellow mustard and approx 1 T of dry ranch dressing mix. Sugar is also needed to balance out some of the tartness of the mayo and sour cream. Definitely use real bacon and fry it until crisp.....microwaving doesn't get the desired texture. This is sort of a base recipe that you can add to to suit your own tastes. I made this for a big church pot luck dinner and it was gobbled up quickly, with requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
We thought this was just OK. The sweet relish seemed wrong. I might try it again with dill relish, or maybe just find another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
I don't peel the potatoes first. I put them in with the skin to boil, then let them cool before cutting. If I cut them and then boil, they get too soggy. I also let my eggs cool after boiling before peeling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Never made Potato Salad before. Didnt' have sweet pickle relish so I substituted capers and some sugar. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica T

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 624) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Warm Steak and Potato Salad

Learn how to make a satisfying salad with the addition of steak and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States