Old Fashioned Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
I don't peel the potatoes first. I put them in with the skin to boil, then let them cool before cutting. If I cut them and then boil, they get too soggy. I also let my eggs cool after boiling before peeling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Never made Potato Salad before. Didnt' have sweet pickle relish so I substituted capers and some sugar. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica T

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Super awsome and easy! Only change I made was since I like a little more zing to my potato salad, I added 3 TBS of cider vinegar. Just a personal preference. But absolutely delicious as the recipe is, and will be a regular dish in my kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pie slinger 82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cardington, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
This is simple AND excellently flavorful! Used just a bit less relish and added about 1/4 tsp. ground nutmeg. Suggest you prepare everything separate from the potatoes, then add in stages. Some people like their potato salad very 'wet', others want less of the mayo mix. The proportions for me were perfect! Also suggest you finely chop the celery and onions so they blend easier. Got raves from family - said it "tasted just like Mom's" - meaning our Mother! The highest of praise in our family for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Not much flavor.... I didn't use pickle relish but that is because we don't like pickles. Could use a little more seasoning. I did put some greek seasoning in it. That helped a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Moore, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
My hubby doesn't like mustard in his potato salad but he says this is a keeper. I didn't have pickle relish but did have some "end of the garden relish" so I added that and also about 3/4 cup peas. was pretty awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabi A.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
I left out the onion as my mother inn law does not like onion and I doubled the mayo the relish and the egg!!! family loved it ....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Payson, Utah, USA
Living In: Spanish Fork, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Made this for my son-in-law who is a basic potato salad man and it got his approval. I did use chopped dill pickles and some of the juice from the pickles instead of sweet pickles. Turned out just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Prokop

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Add 1/2 cup of chopped bacon and a "splash" of white vinegar and this recipe is 5 Stars!!! Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
I loved this. I did not use celery or onion though because i dont like crunchy potatoe salad. i also added a pinch of dill
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 616) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States