Old Fashioned Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
This was very good, I used this recipe as a base & did half mayo half light sour cream. Added some paprika & parsley as well. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrsejessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
I like my potato salad tangy, so I substituted the sweet pickle relish with a small chopped pickle. Delicious! Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AllieGeekPi
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
This was very good; a classic potato salad. I would make it again. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Very good, although dry. I reduced the relish to 2 heaping tablespoons and added a tablespoon of cider vinegar to keep things moist and keep a good balance of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
This is very much like the potato salad I grew up on. The only difference is that my family peels and chops the potatoes before boiling which helps keep the consistency of the potato salad more to our preference (less mashed up but still tender and great tasting). Sometimes we add a touch of dill which we also like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Just made this tonight. Used dill relish instead of sweet and added one more egg and an extra potato and 1/2 cup mayo. Sprinkled paprika on top and chopped onion and celery very small and thin and potato cubed small also. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
this is really good!! I enjoyed making it. SO easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I love this recipe. I've made it seven times and my family loves it! Sometimes when I'm out of mayo, I use Dukes cause it's always in my fridge or diced pickles instead of relish when I'm out of relish. I love this recipe. Reminds me of when my grandma used to make this. I also find that boiling the potatoes whole is a lot faster and easier to cool, peel, and cut versus the peeling, cutting, and boiling that I used to do. My potato salad would always come out too mushy and would better of being smashed potatoes! Well thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
We love this recipe, I have made it several times. The only thing that I do different is use sweet pickles chopped up instead of using sweet relish. I really like the flavor that the celery salt gives this dish, I would not leave this spice out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cakesnthings

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Great recipe, it was my first time making potato salad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reni87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 603) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States