Old Fashioned Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
OK,First time review...I am male retired and cooking for myself...This site is my go to for cooking...this recipe is just one of many I have stored...but I like a different taste sometimes I do not work and will mention some brands for your sake.....loved the recipe and will make it often...Used Kraft horse radish sauce for mayo and whatabuger mustard..didn't measure to much , just add to taste...didn't chunk the potatoes, my Mother always mashed them...I like that..salt was Jane's Mixed up Crazy salt. I really like it...It came out to my taste so good I got up the nerve to write this...If you people have male friends that cook for there selves put them on this site it is a God send and oh yes I read every Rating for ( good and bad) for ideas...Eat something different most every day......and grow my own herbs and spices.......that all ==good eating
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Everyone has a special recipe -- eggs or no eggs, skimpy mayo or more mayo, relish or chopped dill pickles, vinegar or not, and so on. How about adding celery seed? This is a really good start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Good, solid, reliable recipe. I usually just throw potato salad together with varying degrees of success. This recipe adds some discipline, and it's good. I did add some extra mayonnaise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dennis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeview, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hanford, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Love this recipe; added about a 1/4 cup more mayo, but that was the only change/addition I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TCmofo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Yes, I tweaked it and added chopped green peppers, and home made chopped sweet dill pickles, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
First why peel the potatoes? Second, dice first if you want the potato pieces to be evenly cooked and not have some under and some overcooked. I substitute minced gherkins if I don't have relish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Sprinkle the warm potatoes with about 1T.of apple cider vinegar and enjoy the enhanced flavor. Also,for extra colour,add chopped radish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
I have made this Potato Salad many times now and have had rave revues about it. The only change that I made was I used red potatoes,put 2 tbsps. of oil; 1/4 cup of sweet relish and 1/4 cup of finely chopped sweet red pepper and omitted the garlic salt. This is truly great among my Italian family as we are very fussy when it comes to anything with "mayonnaise". Will make this often when we bring a dish to someone's cookout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oldbag

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
I hadn't made potato salad for years and had an urge to make same. This recipe is almost exactly like I remember from long ago. It was wonderful and better after sitting for awhile. Great comments and changes from others also. 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 603) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States