Old-Fashioned Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
this potato salad was good i read the reviews and took some advice and cut back on the sugar and the vinegar and i'm so glad i did i put in 1/2 cup of sugar and 1/2 cup of vinegar and it tasted good. However i like eggs and celery seed in mine..so i did some alterations myself but over all a good recipe not as good as my mother-in-laws potato salad but it is still good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goldina's recipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
I would give this a full five stars; it was the best potato salad I've ever eaten. My problem is that my family doesn't like sweet/sour so they didn't swoon with joy like I did. I'd have to cut back the sugar next time. The green onions are essential. Nothing else will do. It's that magic sour cream/green combo you can't beat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
This is really close to being five stars, it needs some tweeking though. I cut the sugar in half as directed by other reviewers, next time I will not use more then 1/4 cup, when it mixes with the sour creme it becomes really sweet. I didn't have green onions and used chives instead. It was a big hit at a recent family gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StephS.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
This recipe is fantastic. As suggested I used less sugar (less than 1/4 cup). This will be a new staple for my summer cookouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieGirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
Because of the reviews on this recipe, I expected a fantastic potato salad, and this was far from it. It was way too sugary and vinegary, and those tastes overpowered everything else. Next time I will cut down the sugar and vinegar both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
This was a delicious recipe. I didn't have all the ingredients, so instead of the mustard seeds, I used about a tablespoon of honey dijon mustard. I also added some red onions to the green ones to add a little spice. It came out absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amira N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
This is close to a recipe I used for years which I had found trying to match my grandma's salad. It was close and so is this one. I did change one thing; instead of sour cream at the end I used real mayonnaise,the kind from a jar not home made. The dressing is great. I always add lots of boiled eggs to my salads as well. It was nice to find this. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyousblue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IHAYES05
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
This potato salad is very good if you like trying new things and are willing to step outside "the box" as far as what potato salad "should" taste like. I think it is a fantastic recipe, however it was a little too sweet for me. I will definitely make this again, but next time I will cut the sugar in half and I think then it will be perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IHAYES05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
This is a GREAT recipe! I didn’t try it with the green onions simply because I didn’t have green onions, so I put a chopped yellow onion in the mix instead—which really complemented the sweet taste perfectly. I also added celery because I thought it would add to the flavor which it did. Even without the additions I thought it is a great recipe—unlike any potato salad I have ever attempted before. I think I may cut down on the sugar next time, but this is the base recipe I will use from now on!!!! THANK YOU for sharing!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
I rated this as a five, because it really is superb. Personally, however, I will cut the sugar to half in the future. On the other hand, I love the zing that the vinegar gives it. Definitely add your own flavor with bacon, onion, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blackhighheels

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States