Old-Fashioned Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
this potato salad was good i read the reviews and took some advice and cut back on the sugar and the vinegar and i'm so glad i did i put in 1/2 cup of sugar and 1/2 cup of vinegar and it tasted good. However i like eggs and celery seed in mine..so i did some alterations myself but over all a good recipe not as good as my mother-in-laws potato salad but it is still good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goldina's recipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
I would give this a full five stars; it was the best potato salad I've ever eaten. My problem is that my family doesn't like sweet/sour so they didn't swoon with joy like I did. I'd have to cut back the sugar next time. The green onions are essential. Nothing else will do. It's that magic sour cream/green combo you can't beat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
This is really close to being five stars, it needs some tweeking though. I cut the sugar in half as directed by other reviewers, next time I will not use more then 1/4 cup, when it mixes with the sour creme it becomes really sweet. I didn't have green onions and used chives instead. It was a big hit at a recent family gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stuffsalush

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
This recipe is fantastic. As suggested I used less sugar (less than 1/4 cup). This will be a new staple for my summer cookouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieGirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
Because of the reviews on this recipe, I expected a fantastic potato salad, and this was far from it. It was way too sugary and vinegary, and those tastes overpowered everything else. Next time I will cut down the sugar and vinegar both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
This was a delicious recipe. I didn't have all the ingredients, so instead of the mustard seeds, I used about a tablespoon of honey dijon mustard. I also added some red onions to the green ones to add a little spice. It came out absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amira N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
This is close to a recipe I used for years which I had found trying to match my grandma's salad. It was close and so is this one. I did change one thing; instead of sour cream at the end I used real mayonnaise,the kind from a jar not home made. The dressing is great. I always add lots of boiled eggs to my salads as well. It was nice to find this. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyousblue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IHAYES05
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
This potato salad is very good if you like trying new things and are willing to step outside "the box" as far as what potato salad "should" taste like. I think it is a fantastic recipe, however it was a little too sweet for me. I will definitely make this again, but next time I will cut the sugar in half and I think then it will be perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IHAYES05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
This is a GREAT recipe! I didn’t try it with the green onions simply because I didn’t have green onions, so I put a chopped yellow onion in the mix instead—which really complemented the sweet taste perfectly. I also added celery because I thought it would add to the flavor which it did. Even without the additions I thought it is a great recipe—unlike any potato salad I have ever attempted before. I think I may cut down on the sugar next time, but this is the base recipe I will use from now on!!!! THANK YOU for sharing!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
I rated this as a five, because it really is superb. Personally, however, I will cut the sugar to half in the future. On the other hand, I love the zing that the vinegar gives it. Definitely add your own flavor with bacon, onion, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blackhighheels

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States