Old Fashioned Potato Kugel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Hi - I'm the recipe submitter. I just noticed that a reviewer says you should squeeze out the moisture from the potatoes and onions. While most potatoes kugels include this step, one of this recipe's secrets is that you keep the moisture in - it makes for an exceptionally moist kugel. So leave it all in, even it the mixture looks watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
183 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
It can't get much easier than this, and delicious too! Shredded onions, then potatoes in processor with fine shredder. Changed to the blade, added everything else, a few pulses and WAH-LAH it was done. I did however bake it in an oiled 9x13 that was heated first, before putting the mixture in a 400 deg. oven for 1 hour. Tasted it as soon as it came out of the oven & it was TDF, with a very crispy brown top and a creamy inside. Had to go to another room before I would eat it all. Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
This is great! I made this for Passover and substituted some celery root so it was about 50/50 with the potatoes. It helps cut down the glycemic index and also adds vitamin K, not to mention some great flavor. Other than that, I followed the recipe to a tee and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CKandi007

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Natick, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
My mother-in-law made the best potato kugel I ever ate. She would NOT share her recipe with anyone. My husband and sons loved it, and I tried over the years to duplicate it without success. This recipe comes closest. One trick she had that I do know is to broil the kugel for 5 to 7 minutes before baking. I broil it with the plan close to the broiler element, then lower the heat and move the pan down to the middle rack. Give a beautiful top and bottom crust with a creamy inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
My old family recipe agrees with the submitter's version, don't drain the liquid because it adds so much flavor and the additional potato starch makes a real difference. I made one kugel exactly per the recipe and a second with the addition of one third cup of matzo meal, both were excellent wit the second being a tad drier. The drier version worked well with brisket and the creamier version was perfect on its own. Thanks for a great trip down memory lane. Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
In order to keep the potatoes white, alternate potatoes and onion when shredding in the food processor. It does the trick! Mine came out creamy colored and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
I used this recipe as a base for a kugel that was so easy to prepare & came out excellent. In the REFRIGERATED section of the supermarket I bought 2 bags of Crystal Farms Simply Potatoes, Shredded Hash Browns (no excess water, no excess work). Used a very large Spanish Onion and I used peanut oil in lieu of vegetable oil. Because a 9x13 pan would have made too much for just me and my husband, I used 2 disposable alumiminum 9" round pans greased very well with the p. oil. One for now & one for later. Grated onion in food processor then added eggs (beaten)oil, salt, pepper and one bag of potatoes. Pulsed 'till mixed NOT OVERMIXED. Transfered to a large bowl & added 2nd bag of potatoes as is, mixed by hand until all ingredients incorporated. Divided in the two pans.Fluffed top with a fork so shredded potatoes could crisp up. Placed on cookie sheet. Placed in preheated 400 degree oven for 30 minutes, then lowered to 350 for 1 hour until nicely browned and crisp on top. May need additional 20-30 minutes depending on your oven. My husband couldn't wait to eat it because it smelled fabulous while baking. He ate it hot out of the oven. Tasted better to me when cooled. Crisp on top and softer in the middle. REALLY DELICIOUS and so very easy to prepare. I have no alternative to suggest if you can't find the refrigerated shredded potatoes except to do it from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAMSYD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Barnegat, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
Good standard kugel recipe. Make sure you squeeze out the moisture from the shredded potatoes and onions before adding the eggs and oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I followed some of the other suggestions that were made in other reviews and the kugel came out fabulous. I soaked the potatoes in cold water prior to cutting and shredding and rotated them with the shredding of the onions. This kept the kugel very white. I also broiled the top for the first 10 minutes and then baked the rest of the way as stated in the recipe. However, an hour into baking, I realized that I never added the vegetable oil to the egg mixture! The kugel came out great - super tasty and with less fat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Yep - potato kugel! I only had one onion to grate so I added some onion powder to compensate. I also added garlic powder - I think a tspn of each. I strained the spuds and onion just a bit (not as much as when making latkes). Baked at 400* for an hour made it pretty dark on top. Good basic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States