Old Fashioned Potato Kugel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 3, 2013
Scaled this down to one egg since I was cooking for myself. This made for a good side dish with pork steak. Used red onion because that's what I had, and three little potatoes. Really good. Definitely will make again. Since I made so little, it spread over the bottom of the pan in a thin layer, and I folded it into three like how you would an omelette for a pretty presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiren K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookie734
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Very good and very easy. My family loved it. Mom used to use the boxed potato pancake mix, but this is much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie734
Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
This is how I make my potato kugel, but I don't add oil to the mixture. I usually add as many eggs as potatoes instead. Grated potatoes and onions with salt, pepper and eggs always turns out great. Add garlic for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
I thought this was really, really good. It got some mixed reviews, but it may be because I used two very large onions. I thought it resembled a creamy latke.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Uxbridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
This recipe turned out great, just like my mother made 60 years ago. She was a cook for Jewish families and learned the recipe from them. Combining the grating of the onions with the potatoes kept the potatoes white. Thanks for the tip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Delicious! Followed the recipe exactly, and was so pleased. The result is creamy and well-balanced. The top was a little grey (as someone had mentioned), but really, who cares? This stuff is YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Delicious. Because I kept the potatoes in water while they were waiting to be grated, I poured off about half a cup of liquid before baking, but it still came out wonderfully moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I followed some of the other suggestions that were made in other reviews and the kugel came out fabulous. I soaked the potatoes in cold water prior to cutting and shredding and rotated them with the shredding of the onions. This kept the kugel very white. I also broiled the top for the first 10 minutes and then baked the rest of the way as stated in the recipe. However, an hour into baking, I realized that I never added the vegetable oil to the egg mixture! The kugel came out great - super tasty and with less fat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
I made this last night as a trial for Rosh Hashannah. Does not taste like a proper kugel...more like hash browns. The onions are overpowering. If you make this, I strongly recommend draining the potatos & onions and even more strongly recommend you don't make this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
My old family recipe agrees with the submitter's version, don't drain the liquid because it adds so much flavor and the additional potato starch makes a real difference. I made one kugel exactly per the recipe and a second with the addition of one third cup of matzo meal, both were excellent wit the second being a tad drier. The drier version worked well with brisket and the creamier version was perfect on its own. Thanks for a great trip down memory lane. Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States