Old Fashioned Potato Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2015
Turned out great! I only used about 1/3 cup Flour and added Onion Powder in place of onion. Served with sour cream and a side of Applesauce. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
The texture was all wrong, and the flavor of the potato is lost from the boiling. I was very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Avon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
My 75 year old mother said they were the best potato cakes she has ever eaten in her life and she has sampled many. I added 1 tsp of garlic powder to flour mixture. I reserved a little of flour mixture to coat outside of cake. I found putting butter on my hands greatly helped to form cakes and keep them from sticking to my hands. I did fry them in one part butter to one part olive oil. Must admit they were pretty awesome. My husband asked that the next time I mash potatoes to make extra so there is plenty left for potato cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
I have to use gluten free flours so it came out a little chewy, for I didn't even have g.f. all purpose flour on hand. but...I really liked these even so. Didn't have onion on hand but used dried onion flakes.i did not fry these on top of stovetop, but put potato in cast iron skillet in the oven with about 1/8 of an inch of coconut oil. Looked just like the picture.(golden brown) soft in the center, though I baked too long(20min) darn! I was damaged as a child having to eat potato cakes. This is the first time since. (40yrs?) this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I made these potato cakes to go with roast pork loin and sauerkraut - definitely a winner! I did reduce the flour to 1/2 cup and used less oil as others suggested and these came out perfect. I will probably add a bit more salt and pepper next time. Thanks !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Very good! No one had ever had them before, as I don't recall ever having leftover mashed potatoes before, and I wouldn't originally thought to make mashed potatoes just for potato pancakes. Everyone loved them and went back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Stitt

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Pretty good, and tasted like what I remember potato pancakes tasting like. Found them to be rather thick; would most likely make the pancakes half the size/thickness next time. These went well with applesauce and sour cream (not at the same time). I would add extra salt and pepper and probably some parsley, as the flavor was just slightly lacking compared to what I grew up with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEADGIRRRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
Completely bland and too oily. I would not make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tracy7972

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Michigan City, Indiana, USA
Living In: New Carlisle, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
My husband is a very picky eater. I made these tonight and he loved them. I did make a few changes. I used less flour, just enough oil to coat the pan. I also added 1 tsp of baking powder. VERY GOOD! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
My family loved them. Only thing I added was some seasonings per our families tastes (Emeril Essence, some garlic salt, onion powder). I didn't measure the oil, just coated bottom of pan. Kept them warm in the oven til served. Will definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States