Old Fashioned Potato Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Love the taste of these, and they are so simple and easy to make. I had some leftover mashed potatoes that i needed to use and i find this recipe. This was the first time that i have ever had this and i must say they were good and the family loved them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Yummy! Great way to use left over mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
Used this as a base to expand on....this is what I did/had on hand. Had about 1 1/2 cups mashed potatoes from the previous night to which I added about 2 Tblsp. green chili sour cream, 2 Tblsp. chopped onion, the egg, a tsp. of a salt/pepper seasoning mix and about 1/2 cup flour (sorry, didn't measure exactly but added enough to make a somewhat thick (not pourable) batter) and two strips cooked bacon which I had chopped before cooking. I used the remaining bacon grease, added a bit of cooking oil (not evoo) and about 2 Tblsp. Smart Balance to cook the cakes in. Used a medium-size cookie scoop to measure and dropped them into the med-hot pan. When I flipped them, I squished them down. Will serve with more sour cream. Have already tried them and they are DElish! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
These are delicious. And they do not have to be shaped by hand .... Just drop by spoon into a greased skillet to get the size of potato cakes you want...4 inches or so is a good choice.... Easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommytgr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
I used leftover mashed potatoes and substituted green onions for the onions. I found two eggs are necessary for 2 cups of potatoes. Easy and really tasty, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Dee Matthews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaford, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Photo by Jacolyn
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
I shaped these by hand and will use less oil next time (1/2 cup is way too much for these!) This is a nice way to use up extra mashed potatoes. I served them with dollops of sour cream. I will definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Loved these. I made them just the way the recipe says and everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by penni73

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pleasanton Mom
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
O.....M.....G...... So good. So very good. I made these to serve with roasted chicken/spinach sausages as my spin on "bangers and mash". I know that's a stretch, but that's was my inspiration when I decided to serve with sausage. The amount of oil called for is more than what you really need. I used maybe half and got great results. I also followed another reviewer's advice and used half green onion and half yellow onion. Wow. The green onion really added something special to what was already a fantastic recipe. Tip: To make the actual cakes, I used an ice cream scoop and dropped scoops into the skillet (four at a time in a regular size round skillet). I then sprayed the back of my spatula with cooking spray and flattened them into pancake size without the potatoes sticking to the spatula. Worked like a charm. I served with roasted chicken and spinach sausages and green beans on the side. As others suggested, I served the cakes with sour cream. HEAVENLY. Thanks for the recipe. It's a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Sauteed the onions first with garlic and added chives & white cheddar. Otherwise followed to the T. REALLY good! Even my picky 11 year old asked if I could make them for Thanksgiving. Will definitely make again with my mashed leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
These were delicious! The only things I added were garlic powder and an extra egg(as some previous reviewers did). I felt the extra egg made them difficult to handle and shape. Next time I will try them with just the one egg as the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonrisa

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States