Old Fashioned Potato Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Loved these. I made them just the way the recipe says and everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by penni73

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
These were delicious! The only things I added were garlic powder and an extra egg(as some previous reviewers did). I felt the extra egg made them difficult to handle and shape. Next time I will try them with just the one egg as the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonrisa

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
These are delicious. And they do not have to be shaped by hand .... Just drop by spoon into a greased skillet to get the size of potato cakes you want...4 inches or so is a good choice.... Easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommytgr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
I used leftover mashed potatoes and substituted green onions for the onions. I found two eggs are necessary for 2 cups of potatoes. Easy and really tasty, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Matthews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaford, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Photo by Jacolyn
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
I shaped these by hand and will use less oil next time (1/2 cup is way too much for these!) This is a nice way to use up extra mashed potatoes. I served them with dollops of sour cream. I will definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA
Photo by Pleasanton Mom
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
O.....M.....G...... So good. So very good. I made these to serve with roasted chicken/spinach sausages as my spin on "bangers and mash". I know that's a stretch, but that's was my inspiration when I decided to serve with sausage. The amount of oil called for is more than what you really need. I used maybe half and got great results. I also followed another reviewer's advice and used half green onion and half yellow onion. Wow. The green onion really added something special to what was already a fantastic recipe. Tip: To make the actual cakes, I used an ice cream scoop and dropped scoops into the skillet (four at a time in a regular size round skillet). I then sprayed the back of my spatula with cooking spray and flattened them into pancake size without the potatoes sticking to the spatula. Worked like a charm. I served with roasted chicken and spinach sausages and green beans on the side. As others suggested, I served the cakes with sour cream. HEAVENLY. Thanks for the recipe. It's a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Sauteed the onions first with garlic and added chives & white cheddar. Otherwise followed to the T. REALLY good! Even my picky 11 year old asked if I could make them for Thanksgiving. Will definitely make again with my mashed leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb Craig
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Love the taste of these, and they are so simple and easy to make. I had some leftover mashed potatoes that i needed to use and i find this recipe. This was the first time that i have ever had this and i must say they were good and the family loved them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
Used this as a base to expand on....this is what I did/had on hand. Had about 1 1/2 cups mashed potatoes from the previous night to which I added about 2 Tblsp. green chili sour cream, 2 Tblsp. chopped onion, the egg, a tsp. of a salt/pepper seasoning mix and about 1/2 cup flour (sorry, didn't measure exactly but added enough to make a somewhat thick (not pourable) batter) and two strips cooked bacon which I had chopped before cooking. I used the remaining bacon grease, added a bit of cooking oil (not evoo) and about 2 Tblsp. Smart Balance to cook the cakes in. Used a medium-size cookie scoop to measure and dropped them into the med-hot pan. When I flipped them, I squished them down. Will serve with more sour cream. Have already tried them and they are DElish! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Yummy! Great way to use left over mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States