Old Fashioned Potato Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
Hubby really liked these. The finely diced onion is very nice. Tip - if the potato mixture will try to stick to your hands when forming the patties. I used an ice cream scoop and wet my hands. Placed a scoop of the mixture onto my wet hand and then gently flattened them into patties. You don't really need a half cup of oil - just enough to coat the bottom of a heavy non stick skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
Used this as a base to expand on....this is what I did/had on hand. Had about 1 1/2 cups mashed potatoes from the previous night to which I added about 2 Tblsp. green chili sour cream, 2 Tblsp. chopped onion, the egg, a tsp. of a salt/pepper seasoning mix and about 1/2 cup flour (sorry, didn't measure exactly but added enough to make a somewhat thick (not pourable) batter) and two strips cooked bacon which I had chopped before cooking. I used the remaining bacon grease, added a bit of cooking oil (not evoo) and about 2 Tblsp. Smart Balance to cook the cakes in. Used a medium-size cookie scoop to measure and dropped them into the med-hot pan. When I flipped them, I squished them down. Will serve with more sour cream. Have already tried them and they are DElish! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
I used leftover mashed potatoes and substituted green onions for the onions. I found two eggs are necessary for 2 cups of potatoes. Easy and really tasty, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Dee Matthews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaford, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Photo by Jacolyn
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
I shaped these by hand and will use less oil next time (1/2 cup is way too much for these!) This is a nice way to use up extra mashed potatoes. I served them with dollops of sour cream. I will definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA
Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I used 3 green onions, and less flour, maybe 3/4 cup. Made one batch and it still very much like fried potatoes and sort of bland. So I added some shakes of garlic powder, paprika, added another egg and some grated cheese in the next batch, which took this to a five star for us. Great way to use up leftover mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Photo by Pleasanton Mom
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
O.....M.....G...... So good. So very good. I made these to serve with roasted chicken/spinach sausages as my spin on "bangers and mash". I know that's a stretch, but that's was my inspiration when I decided to serve with sausage. The amount of oil called for is more than what you really need. I used maybe half and got great results. I also followed another reviewer's advice and used half green onion and half yellow onion. Wow. The green onion really added something special to what was already a fantastic recipe. Tip: To make the actual cakes, I used an ice cream scoop and dropped scoops into the skillet (four at a time in a regular size round skillet). I then sprayed the back of my spatula with cooking spray and flattened them into pancake size without the potatoes sticking to the spatula. Worked like a charm. I served with roasted chicken and spinach sausages and green beans on the side. As others suggested, I served the cakes with sour cream. HEAVENLY. Thanks for the recipe. It's a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
These are delicious. And they do not have to be shaped by hand .... Just drop by spoon into a greased skillet to get the size of potato cakes you want...4 inches or so is a good choice.... Easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommytgr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I made these potato cakes to go with roast pork loin and sauerkraut - definitely a winner! I did reduce the flour to 1/2 cup and used less oil as others suggested and these came out perfect. I will probably add a bit more salt and pepper next time. Thanks !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
Completely bland and too oily. I would not make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tracy7972

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Michigan City, Indiana, USA
Living In: New Carlisle, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Very nice! Would make these again, skipped the vegetable oil and used Pam - sprayed both sides; spray the pan, then put the cakes in and then spray the tops. I keep them warm in the oven on a cookie sheet until I am ready to serve, cooked them in batches of 5. My new go to recipe for potato cakes! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charlotte

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States