Old Fashioned Potato Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
Used this as a base to expand on....this is what I did/had on hand. Had about 1 1/2 cups mashed potatoes from the previous night to which I added about 2 Tblsp. green chili sour cream, 2 Tblsp. chopped onion, the egg, a tsp. of a salt/pepper seasoning mix and about 1/2 cup flour (sorry, didn't measure exactly but added enough to make a somewhat thick (not pourable) batter) and two strips cooked bacon which I had chopped before cooking. I used the remaining bacon grease, added a bit of cooking oil (not evoo) and about 2 Tblsp. Smart Balance to cook the cakes in. Used a medium-size cookie scoop to measure and dropped them into the med-hot pan. When I flipped them, I squished them down. Will serve with more sour cream. Have already tried them and they are DElish! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
Hubby really liked these. The finely diced onion is very nice. Tip - if the potato mixture will try to stick to your hands when forming the patties. I used an ice cream scoop and wet my hands. Placed a scoop of the mixture onto my wet hand and then gently flattened them into patties. You don't really need a half cup of oil - just enough to coat the bottom of a heavy non stick skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
These are delicious. And they do not have to be shaped by hand .... Just drop by spoon into a greased skillet to get the size of potato cakes you want...4 inches or so is a good choice.... Easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommytgr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
I used leftover mashed potatoes and substituted green onions for the onions. I found two eggs are necessary for 2 cups of potatoes. Easy and really tasty, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Dee Matthews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaford, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Photo by Jacolyn
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
I shaped these by hand and will use less oil next time (1/2 cup is way too much for these!) This is a nice way to use up extra mashed potatoes. I served them with dollops of sour cream. I will definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Loved these. I made them just the way the recipe says and everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by penni73

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pleasanton Mom
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
O.....M.....G...... So good. So very good. I made these to serve with roasted chicken/spinach sausages as my spin on "bangers and mash". I know that's a stretch, but that's was my inspiration when I decided to serve with sausage. The amount of oil called for is more than what you really need. I used maybe half and got great results. I also followed another reviewer's advice and used half green onion and half yellow onion. Wow. The green onion really added something special to what was already a fantastic recipe. Tip: To make the actual cakes, I used an ice cream scoop and dropped scoops into the skillet (four at a time in a regular size round skillet). I then sprayed the back of my spatula with cooking spray and flattened them into pancake size without the potatoes sticking to the spatula. Worked like a charm. I served with roasted chicken and spinach sausages and green beans on the side. As others suggested, I served the cakes with sour cream. HEAVENLY. Thanks for the recipe. It's a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
i am new to this site and dont cook much however i was feeling a little brave so i made this wonderful potato cakes it was so easy and everyonr loved them i will make them again thank you so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
I found them to not have much taste. I even added cheese to the mixture. But I would try them again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I used 3 green onions, and less flour, maybe 3/4 cup. Made one batch and it still very much like fried potatoes and sort of bland. So I added some shakes of garlic powder, paprika, added another egg and some grated cheese in the next batch, which took this to a five star for us. Great way to use up leftover mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States