Old Fashioned Potato Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I made these potato cakes to go with roast pork loin and sauerkraut - definitely a winner! I did reduce the flour to 1/2 cup and used less oil as others suggested and these came out perfect. I will probably add a bit more salt and pepper next time. Thanks !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Very good! No one had ever had them before, as I don't recall ever having leftover mashed potatoes before, and I wouldn't originally thought to make mashed potatoes just for potato pancakes. Everyone loved them and went back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Stitt

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Pretty good, and tasted like what I remember potato pancakes tasting like. Found them to be rather thick; would most likely make the pancakes half the size/thickness next time. These went well with applesauce and sour cream (not at the same time). I would add extra salt and pepper and probably some parsley, as the flavor was just slightly lacking compared to what I grew up with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEADGIRRRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
Completely bland and too oily. I would not make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tracy7972

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Michigan City, Indiana, USA
Living In: New Carlisle, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
My husband is a very picky eater. I made these tonight and he loved them. I did make a few changes. I used less flour, just enough oil to coat the pan. I also added 1 tsp of baking powder. VERY GOOD! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
My family loved them. Only thing I added was some seasonings per our families tastes (Emeril Essence, some garlic salt, onion powder). I didn't measure the oil, just coated bottom of pan. Kept them warm in the oven til served. Will definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Very nice! Would make these again, skipped the vegetable oil and used Pam - sprayed both sides; spray the pan, then put the cakes in and then spray the tops. I keep them warm in the oven on a cookie sheet until I am ready to serve, cooked them in batches of 5. My new go to recipe for potato cakes! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charlotte

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
Perfect breakfast. Made with garlic rosemary potatoes from last night. A dollop of sour cream on top and these were perfect. Used a bit less flour and they were very stiff but cooked up nice. My 1 1/2 year old made yummy noises as he ate his breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westbrook, Maine, USA
Living In: Hiram, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Excellent use for mashed potato leftovers. We make these often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I thought it tasted a bit dough-y... maybe too much flour? I may try them again with less flour and add cheese and bacon crumbles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emmascookin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States