Old Fashioned Pineapple Upside-Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Monica Ryman Eastham
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
This cake was really tasty. I tried making it in a skillet and that didn't work well. I made it in a glass dish and that worked much better but had to leave it in 15 minutes longer than the time stated. Watch your cake and test it with a skewer to make sure it's cooked through. I made it for my father at his birthday request. I read reviews and added 2 Tbsp sour cream. I used bing and maraschino cherries. I will make it again. No more box cake here. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Yummy the family loves it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eatonville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by T
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
It does taste good but did anyone find it just a little too eggy? 4 eggs for 1 cup of cake flour was a bit much for my taste. Other than that it was pretty good...oh I used vanilla not almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Largo, Florida, USA
Photo by Gail Gerszewski-Johnson
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
I used the wrong type of baking dish but it was fabulous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
I personally like a more cake style recipe but this was an extremely moist cake and fun to make! It was a bit buttery so next time I might reduce by a 1/4 cp but it was gone before I knew it so that should say something!!!! Its very delicious and great for any dessert addition.. I snap chatted the meringue making!!! Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Bowie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
I used a smaller cast iron skillet to cook it and it takes an extra 7 minutes or so but it turns out excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
OK I am making this cake now. I will cut the sugar down a bit, add 2 tablespoons of sour cream and add 1/4-1/3 cup of pineapple juice to the batter. Problem is I don't have a mixer so will try whipping it with a whisk. Wish me luck, I hope it works! Also my cast iron skillet is only 10 inches, crossing fingers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
4 stars as is. 5 with the following changes. My husband and I have just tried with the changes and we both said " this is going to be a problem" lol Used crushed pineapple, drained Halved the almond extract & added 1 tsp vanilla Beat egg yolks w sugar Added 1/4 c sour cream Folded in egg whites last Next time I'll soak the pineapple overnight in coconut rum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
It left ALOT to be desired.... It was dry and was missing something, I was disappointed and let down those that enjoy my cooking. I recommend another recipe elsewhere...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
This recipe wasn't bad. I added the pineapple juice and sour cream but I don't know that it needed it because the goo from the top of the cake saturates down when you flip it. I made it in a 9 x 13 and it took 45 minutes to cook. If you use a bigger pan, double the recipe! My cake was only 1" thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States