Old Fashioned Pineapple Upside-Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
wasn't very impressed with recipe..Will make adjustments on next one like trying the sour cream and maybe a little more flour to stiffen up the batter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
AWESOME! I also added about 1/4 cup of Pineapple juice to the mix with the Almond flavoring and butter. I sprinkled just a little Brown sugar on the top before putting it in the over to add sweetness to the bottom crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Very Good and reminded me of my childhood, only I think it is better than what my mom made! I used crushed pineapple instead of slices and also added 1/4 cup of juice to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Martin Moreman

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I have been looking for this recipe for 16yrs..thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat Hanners

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I read a lot of Pineapple Upside Down Cake recipes before I settled on this one. I had made one similar years before with a recipe from a Southern living magazine. I made this exactly as written (I think you should to rate it properly.) except I did not add the last T. of butter...did not have anymore. Anyway, I'm not sure what I expected but this was not it. Beating the egg whites then folding in the yellows and flour mixture made a strange looking batter, to me. When I checked it at 30 min.s the batter was still very liquidy, turned oven up to 350 and cooked 5 more min.s. It was done. Tasted ok warm from the oven...not so good later. Wasn't a big hit at my house. May just us a recipe with a mix next time. I love pineapple and still want to make a good one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skunkee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I've made this cake 2 times as written and it became my families favorite pineapple upside down cake. Yesterday I added tablespoons of the pineapple juice and I changed the extract from almont to vanilla. We like it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This was a great recipe. I love the fact that you can read the reviews of other people before making it yourself! I did not want mine to be dry so I added a little pinapple and cherry juice as well as about a half cup of crushed pinapple in at the end and it came out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ez
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
5* for posting a great base. Added 1 T sour cream, large farm-fresh eggs, organic everything possible, 12" cast-iron, fresh pineapple, cranberries, baked for abt 40 min. All else as written. Perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
WONDERFUL!!MADE EXACTLY AS WRITTEN :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suth3rng1rl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chickamauga, Georgia, USA
Living In: Wappapello, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
This is one of the best pineapple upside-down cakes that I've ever had. Hot out of the oven, or cold with a cup of tea in the morning, this only gets better the day after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

A dessert classic, baked just like in the olden days!

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States