Old Fashioned Pineapple Upside-Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Terrible cake. I lost every ingredient. I would never try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aleja

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Substituted fresh strawberries for maraschino cherries and used a fresh pineapple. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
The recipe makes a decent cake but it's a bit on the dry side. I did add 2 Tbsp. of sour cream after reading other reviews complaining of the same thing. I also used pineapple rings that were packed in 100% juice rather than rings packed in syrup. I will be giving the recipe another chance and using a bit more sour cream because it should be an easy fix. If it doesn't help I'll be moving onto another recipe. EDIT: I gave this cake another go and this time I added an extra tablespoon of sour cream and then once baked I poked the cake with a fork and sprinkled some of the pineapple juice I had reserved over the cake (just enough to moisten in but not soak it like say a tres leches cake) and let it rest until time to serve. This really improved the cake in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alexis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orland, California, USA
Living In: Red Bluff, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
the flavor on this cake is awesome! mine sagged in the middle though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
This came out fabulous! I used a 13x9" pan. My only changes were adding a bit of reserved pineapple juice and using regular all-purpose flower because I didn't have cake flower. I also added walnuts around the pineapples. Because of the size of the pan, it was a very "short" cake. It did not rise much if at all while baking. The flour I used might have also contributed. Because of the added juice, it was hard to tell that the cake was done baking because it was bubbling. I baked it an extra 10 or 15 minutes, but it was not overcooked. This was fantastic. It was a lot more complex than anything I usually bake, but it was well worth the work. It was just as good as the cake my grandma used to make, and she made the best pineapple upside down cake I've ever eaten. Thank you for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
This is my first time trying this cake, or any cake for that matter, from scratch. It was delicious!!! I found though that I had to bake it a little longer than the 35 minutes. Loved it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
I followed this recipe closely, but made a few minor changes after reading others' changes. Reduced the amount of brown sugar at least half. Used vanilla (that's what I had) instead of almond extract. No yucky maraschinos. Added a few large Tbs of yogurt for moistness, folding it into the batter at the end. I also cut the pineapple into little arches, so they could press together more and cover more surface area. It looked really nice too! Overall, a beautiful recipe. Very light, like a chiffon. And I loved used my cast iron skillet to bake it in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZAPATISTA234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AshleyBolling
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
I made these into little personal cakes from muffin tins. I used crushed pineapple instead of the slices. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AshleyBolling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Branson, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
This is a delicious cake! It was super moist and tasty. I will definitely make again. I'm giving it 4 stars instead of 5 because I had the problem that after I baked it (longer than the time indicated--closer to 45 min.) and turned it over onto a cake plate, I had a bowl of melted sugar/butter sitting in the middle of the cake. I tried to spread it over the sides but there was way too much of the butter/sugar mixture. I will probably cut that in half next time. Did anyone else have this problem? Otherwise it was very delicious. I did add 1/2 cup of crushed pineapple mixed with about tablespoon of vanilla yogurt, the 1 tbsp. butter, and 1 tsp. almond extract together then I turned it into the batter. I thought it added more pineapple taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Delicious and moist, Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States