Old Fashioned Pineapple Upside-Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
I had my reservations when the mix only called for 1 TBS of butter. Very dry! Will never make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
Yesterday was my first time to make this cake and it did not disappoint. I read the recipe over 2 times to be sure there was no liquid that I had missed. If I were not a diabetic, I could have eaten the cake in one day. I will use less butter and brown sugar in the future. Do think I might add a bit of the pineapple juice next time. Loved the texture of the cake. I will make it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boonville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jo'L
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
I love this recipe! I've made it a few times. The hardest part is trying to keep my dog away from it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo'L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Looked for a recipe for many years ,Aunt made them when I was a kid. This recipe truly reminded me of the old cooks of the old south. If you add to this recipe you miss the point, well maybe cause I use dark brown sugar for a more sticky caramel tase. Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Waltrip
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
This just came out of the oven and it's so good! This is a perfect old fashioned upside down cake. It was light and spongy and very sweet:) I did add about 1/4 c. of sour cream but other than that I followed the recipe as is. Next time I think I'll add a can of crushed pineapple to the batter for extra pineapple flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Waltrip

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
5 stars.....This is exactly what I was looking for. When I was growing up, my sister and I did lots of cooking and baking by scratch thanks to our mother's guidance and this was our favorite pineapple upside down cake. I am now going to make it for my mother in law!!!! In my opinion, there is no better!! 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Cake was a little dry. Taste was great -- needed a little more butter. Will add the next time I make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Very good. Took a little longer until it was done
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
I just made this cake and had a piece, I love it!!! I too like followed the suggestions of others and added 3 tablespoons of sour cream and a 1/2 cup of pineapple juice. The cake was very moist. I used fresh pineapple but will take others suggestions and try crushed next time. Thank you for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
its so good and moist, i add 2 table spoon of sour cream and 1/2 cup of pineapple juice just like the other review said, it turn out the best pineapple cake i've made. my husband loves it!!!! thank you for sharing your recipe with us
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Carrot Pineapple Cake

See how to make a sweet, moist and rich cake with cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States