Old Fashioned Pineapple Upside-Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
wasn't very impressed with recipe..Will make adjustments on next one like trying the sour cream and maybe a little more flour to stiffen up the batter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
AWESOME! I also added about 1/4 cup of Pineapple juice to the mix with the Almond flavoring and butter. I sprinkled just a little Brown sugar on the top before putting it in the over to add sweetness to the bottom crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Very Good and reminded me of my childhood, only I think it is better than what my mom made! I used crushed pineapple instead of slices and also added 1/4 cup of juice to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kedo

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I have been looking for this recipe for 16yrs..thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I read a lot of Pineapple Upside Down Cake recipes before I settled on this one. I had made one similar years before with a recipe from a Southern living magazine. I made this exactly as written (I think you should to rate it properly.) except I did not add the last T. of butter...did not have anymore. Anyway, I'm not sure what I expected but this was not it. Beating the egg whites then folding in the yellows and flour mixture made a strange looking batter, to me. When I checked it at 30 min.s the batter was still very liquidy, turned oven up to 350 and cooked 5 more min.s. It was done. Tasted ok warm from the oven...not so good later. Wasn't a big hit at my house. May just us a recipe with a mix next time. I love pineapple and still want to make a good one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skunkee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I've made this cake 2 times as written and it became my families favorite pineapple upside down cake. Yesterday I added tablespoons of the pineapple juice and I changed the extract from almont to vanilla. We like it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This was a great recipe. I love the fact that you can read the reviews of other people before making it yourself! I did not want mine to be dry so I added a little pinapple and cherry juice as well as about a half cup of crushed pinapple in at the end and it came out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ez
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
5* for posting a great base. Added 1 T sour cream, large farm-fresh eggs, organic everything possible, 12" cast-iron, fresh pineapple, cranberries, baked for abt 40 min. All else as written. Perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
WONDERFUL!!MADE EXACTLY AS WRITTEN :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suth3rng1rl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chickamauga, Georgia, USA
Living In: Wappapello, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
This is one of the best pineapple upside-down cakes that I've ever had. Hot out of the oven, or cold with a cup of tea in the morning, this only gets better the day after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States