Old Fashioned Pineapple Upside-Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
Followed the recipe exactly and it turned out beautiful and moist. It was more of an angel food type cake and not the traditional cake consistency my boyfriend likes. He gobbled it up anyway but would prefer I try a different recipe with a real cake consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori McKirahan Burton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by coleebear
Reviewed: May 26, 2013
My family loved it but I found it a bit dry. I think the next time I will add all of the pineapple juice. After reading all the reviews I did add part of the pineapple juice. I did dry the pineapples before I put them in the brown sugar butter mixture. I also moved it to a 9 x 13 pan instead of a 10' skillet, just what I have. Now I have to go hide it so there is some left for my parents tomorrow
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coleebear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sykesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
Made exactly per recipe. (If you didn't follow the recipe exactly, don't review it......and don't knock it!). This is a fabulous upside-down cake. It makes a beautiful batter, and the finished cake is delicious, absolutely delicious. May be slightly (I said slightly) harder than making one with a cake mix, but if you value the taste of a home-made cake, this is easier than pie. And very pretty, too. Got rave reviews from all who got a piece; one man said it was as "wonderful" as his grandmother's, who also made hers in a skillet, and that was my reward! Thank you for a "wonderful" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
i should have preheated the cast iron to caramelize the pineapple more but this was far from dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
This came out more like a quiche or an egg custard consistency . I't not your mothers "pineapple upside down cake". Should have known with 4 eggs to 1 cup of cake flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
Why can't there be 6 stars?? This recipe was insane!! Super-delicious and delectable--the entire cake disappeared in one day! I cooked mine in an oval glass casserole, which worked splendidly, as I didn't have a nice cast-iron skillet. Highly recommend this recipe for a dessert that's a lot of fun and also different from the usual dessert array. Thanks so much!! (Also, I substituted vanilla extract for the almond extract and it was still very tasty).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
I followed the recipe and just poured the pineapple juice on the cake after I poked the cake from the bottom. It was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by notacook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
This was very good and moist. I did follow the directions, whipping the yolks and whites separate. If you do this step this will give your cake fluff and keep it moist. I did omit the second round of butter, added 1/4 cup of reserved pineapple juice to the already whipped yolks, and reduced the 1 cup of sugar to 1/2 cup. I also added a tablespoon of sour cream to the already whipped yolks as well. Baked in a 13x9 pan for 30 minutes and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
Turned out absolutely delicious. Followed recipe to the letter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States