Old Fashioned Pineapple Upside-Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
This cake turned out very juicy and moist! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
The cake was okay, but I think it came out too sweet for me. Next time I will cut the brown sugar down to 1/2 cup and maybe the granulated sugar to 3/4 cups. I used whole wheat flour, which made a wheat colored cake :) The cake was perfect except for sweetness. I like sweets, but it doesn't take much to be too sweet for me. I will also bake at a higher temperature, maybe 335-340 instead of 325. I baked it for 40 minutes. The cake is very moist, but I think I will try what one person says her mother or mother-in-law did and pours some of the pineapple juice over the cake after it's done baking, for moisture and flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This was sooooo easy and delicious!!!! Great recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
This cake is awesome! Reminds me of how my grandmother's pineapple upside down cake use to taste. I did take the advice of another reviewer and added pineapple juice and some sour cream to the mix. Plus I added a bit more brown sugar. I have a sweet tooth :) plus my husband said he thought it needed more brown sugar. All in all this was by far the best cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
This recipe was okay. Easy to prepare. I used fresh pineapple instead of canned and substituted vanilla extract instead of almond extract. I don't like almond. Everything else was exactly as written(I don't normally substitute) The flavour was good but I found that the butter/sugar mixture made the cake too soggy. I will either reduce the amount and/or use a smaller pan next time so that it is a thicker cake. My husband did love this cake as it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TamLou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
If it ain't broke, don't fix it. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AnnieBerl
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
This was my First Pineapple UpsideDown Cake.. And it was Delicious!!!! I have a very, very small cake business (pound cake from scratch) I'm just starting to fill other orders and this was my First Pineapple UpsideDown Cake..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Absolutely delicious. I change nothing about it. Friends and family rave about this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
The best pineapple upside-down cake I've ever tasted. Light, sweet and buttery. I made it just as the recipe stated. I changed nothing. It wasn't dry at all. Will definitely bake this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jeimy
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Loved it!! I added three table spoon of rum to the sugar and butter. I made the few changes suggested by others. I added some pineapple juice and sour cream. It was simply delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States