Old Fashioned Pineapple Upside-Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Starreyez
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
Yes . First time making this recipe came out beautifully. I did use the suggestions, of using the pineapple juice reserve. Nice and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
I did not care for this recipe. Way to much butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nurses-r-angels

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jul
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
I forgot to say that I made this in a Dutch Oven. Also, grease your plate before you invert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Made it exactly as instructed and it was perfect. So fluffy and light and moist. I really worked to be light handed with the whites and folded them carefully with the flour (sifted!) and yolk mixture .... just as one does when making Macarons and the "batter" reminded me of Macaron batter -- kind of chunky but thoroughly (but barely) combined. I think that was the magic ... and made the batter angel food cake-like. I didnt love the lack of caramelization on the bottom but I placed the pan on an upper rack. Next time I'll place it on a lower rack and suspect that'll do the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by user

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
this didn't turn out good for me. too much brown sugar, rather grainy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karla Minor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canby, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
This recipe was lite and fluffy! I only had crushed pineapple so that's what I used.. I didn't find that it was too sweet. And it had a yummy buttery flavour that wasn't overpowering. This took me right back to my Nanna's kitchen when I was a little girl. Overall pretty tasty recipe! I did however cut the almond extract in half because that stuff is powerful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Pretty good - I made a few changes as suggested by some of hte other reviewers and a few of my own - everyone liked it even the pick eater in the family. I only used 1/2 cup of white sugar and 1/4 cup of brown sugar (next time may even reduce the white to 1/4 cup) and creamed with 1/2 cup butter then added egg substitute as I don't eat eggs. Egg substitute - 1 tbs ground flax seesds and 3tbs of water mixed and left for 15 mins (this makes the equivalent of 1 egg - just double up for more eggs!) I also used 3 cups of pineapple chunks instead of rings (didn't have any rings). Substituted vanilla extract for the almond. Also added another 1/2 cup of the pineapple juice into the mix before blending with the flour etc..but didn't add any yoghurt or cream as suggested by a few reviewers simply because I don't eat either. The cake took approx 35 mins at 350 in fan assisted oven. It didn't rise as much as I had hoped so may need to adjust the baking soda a little but I also live at a really high altitude so any baking is a challenge. I will make this again - the kids really loved it and it was super moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
I wasn't wild on the texture of this recipe. It was more meringue than cake. It just wasn't what I expected. I should've known, given that the egg whites were beaten to stiff peaks, but I thought possibly the yolks and flour would transform it into a light airy cake. Instead, it was a gloppy mess. The taste was delicious, but the texture ruined the "cake."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cblwolf

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ruth Skinner
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
At first, seeing there weren't liquids to add,I wondered if it would be dry. No,it was not dry. It was fluffy, most and delicious.... ALOT better than a boxed cake! My 14 year old son expressed his really liking it too. This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth Skinner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Sweet...I love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

A dessert classic, baked just like in the olden days!

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States