Old Fashioned Pineapple Upside-Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
the flavor on this cake is awesome! mine sagged in the middle though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
This came out fabulous! I used a 13x9" pan. My only changes were adding a bit of reserved pineapple juice and using regular all-purpose flower because I didn't have cake flower. I also added walnuts around the pineapples. Because of the size of the pan, it was a very "short" cake. It did not rise much if at all while baking. The flour I used might have also contributed. Because of the added juice, it was hard to tell that the cake was done baking because it was bubbling. I baked it an extra 10 or 15 minutes, but it was not overcooked. This was fantastic. It was a lot more complex than anything I usually bake, but it was well worth the work. It was just as good as the cake my grandma used to make, and she made the best pineapple upside down cake I've ever eaten. Thank you for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah “Sarha” Oboda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
This is my first time trying this cake, or any cake for that matter, from scratch. It was delicious!!! I found though that I had to bake it a little longer than the 35 minutes. Loved it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
I followed this recipe closely, but made a few minor changes after reading others' changes. Reduced the amount of brown sugar at least half. Used vanilla (that's what I had) instead of almond extract. No yucky maraschinos. Added a few large Tbs of yogurt for moistness, folding it into the batter at the end. I also cut the pineapple into little arches, so they could press together more and cover more surface area. It looked really nice too! Overall, a beautiful recipe. Very light, like a chiffon. And I loved used my cast iron skillet to bake it in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZAPATISTA234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ashley Bolling
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
I made these into little personal cakes from muffin tins. I used crushed pineapple instead of the slices. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Bolling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Branson, Missouri, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
This is a delicious cake! It was super moist and tasty. I will definitely make again. I'm giving it 4 stars instead of 5 because I had the problem that after I baked it (longer than the time indicated--closer to 45 min.) and turned it over onto a cake plate, I had a bowl of melted sugar/butter sitting in the middle of the cake. I tried to spread it over the sides but there was way too much of the butter/sugar mixture. I will probably cut that in half next time. Did anyone else have this problem? Otherwise it was very delicious. I did add 1/2 cup of crushed pineapple mixed with about tablespoon of vanilla yogurt, the 1 tbsp. butter, and 1 tsp. almond extract together then I turned it into the batter. I thought it added more pineapple taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Delicious and moist, Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
This was such a delicious recipe! I used a nonstick cake pan in lieu of a skillet and that made everything fool proof when flipping the cake over. All of my guests loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
I have made this cake a couple of times now and my family loves it. The first time I made it exactly like the recipe and it was a hit with my husband and in-laws. Tonight I used fresh pineapple and added coconut on top of that. I only used 3/4 cups of granulated sugar. I also added coconut extract instead of the almond and a couple of tablespoons of plain yogurt to make it a little more moist. This version was my favorite! But following the recipe exactly is 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
Made this cake for my Brother's birthday! He said it was the best PUDC EVER!! Will def make this for my neighbors! Oh, not to mention, it was so easy to do!!! FIVE STAR INDEED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Schriever, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Carrot Pineapple Cake

See how to make a sweet, moist and rich cake with cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States