Old Fashioned Peanut Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
These turned out a little hard and dry. Maybe I baked them a little too long. They tasted OK, but are not my favorite peanut butter cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
This is a good basic peanut butter cookie recipe that lends well to whatever adaptation one's heart desires. My cookies turned out soft and lovely, though I overcooked many of them. (My oven is one of those "individual oven temperatures may vary" ones they are always warning about!) I cut the baking time down to 8 min. I didn't have peanut butter chips on hand so substituted for semi-sweet chocolate chips in half my batch and went without in the other half. As I suspected, I preferred the plain and I think the peanut butter chips would have been a little much for me as I don't like things overly sweet. It is just a matter of personal preference though, nothing wrong with the recipe for those that like them sweet. The only other change I made was to cream the sugar and butter first as I don't have an electric beater and that just made it easier to incorporate the butter and peanut butter by hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookie monster1312
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
sooooooo gooooood!! i made them and asked my dad on a scale of 1-10 what were they and he said a 9 if not better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Made these as part of our Christmas Cookie line up this year. They were good; lots of people liked them. I would have liked them to be a bit softer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
These were very tasty, but turned out hard and crumbly, instead of soft and chewy. Possibly because of the way the recipe said to mix the ingredients. I would make these again. Just be sure you have some milk to go with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gillette, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by vickylm
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
These are the perfect peanut butter cookie!!! They are extremely easy to make and delicious. I baked the cookies for 11 minutes and used a 10 ounce bag of Reese PB chips and the cookies are just AMAZING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
They where pretty good but a little dry and crumbly....i prefer chewy peanut butter cookies but they were still really peanut buttery =) I added a little more peanut butter than the recipe calls for and didnt use peanut butter chips though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
these were so yummmmmmy i almost ate them all myslelf
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Port Hope, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Cookies turned out very crumbly. I followed the directions to a "T". My husband and I didn't like the flavor of the cookies, either...not sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I have been getting recipies off of allrecipies.com for a while now and this is by far the BEST recipe. I love to bake and am always looking for new recipies to add to my book. These cookies have the right amount of peanut butter to them. They are moist, not like the other crumbly peanut butter cookies ive tasted. I used 1/4 less flour and put in the nestle peanut butter and chocolate chip swirl chips and threw them in there as well as some peanut butter chips. They were not even crumbly at all when I did the criss-cross shape in them like a few others have said. I will add this recipe to my book. These are the best PB cookies ive ever tasted. Maybe half the vanilla extract with have vanilla and half almond extract, I havent done that yet, but it sure sounds good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States